The Selection Review!

About the book:10507293.jpg

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre & Age Group: Dystopian, fantasy, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herselfโ€”and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Don’t laugh- but I was bored one day, so I decided to take a quiz on which book I should read next, and I got this as my result! I then looked it up on Goodreads, and the description really intrigued me!

Review: OMG. This book isย life! I picked it up knowing that it would be a lot like The Bachelor, and when I watch that show, I get really entertained by all the drama happening between everyone! I knew that this would be even more interesting than the show since it took place in a palace, and included royalty! Hence that, I really enjoyed this book, it was fantastic! Similar to The Bachelor, there is a man (in this case, a prince) looking for love, so many girls apply for the title of his wife, and they get rounded down by the bachelor until he chooses the one he wants to be with. In the book, thousands of girls applied, but a draw was taken so only 35 got to meet the prince and continue with the process. America Singer, the protagonist, was one of these 35 chosen women. At first, she was very reluctant to apply because she had another boy whom she liked, Aspen, but he pressured her into participating, and she didn’t want to let him down. Besides, her family needed the money, and by being included, she would be provided with a salary. She also thought that the prince seemed a bit boring and dull. Then, as I said before, she finally got to meet the prince, and she was torn between her feelings for him and Aspen. I really enjoyed the writing style of the book, as there were not many filler scenes and it just went straight to the point. This book had just enough detail to make it super engaging! I found Prince Maxon to be a very patient and caring character, and I agree that he would make an amazing prince. He tended not to hold grudges, and he forgave people easily and quickly if they made mistakes, which I do not see often in YA books. Many characters in young adult books get into fights with each other easily, and find it a bit hard to forgive the other person that they weren’t getting along with. Prince Maxon was just so easy-going, and those types of characters just make stories that much better! I’m exuberant to read the rest of the series, as I couldn’t get enough of this book! I would honestly recommend it to any teen, because it has a little bit of everything; romance, agreeable characters, royalty, and dystopia! I can definitely see why this book has won the hearts of so many readers!

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

 

19 thoughts on “The Selection Review!

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I’ve heard lots of mixed reviews about this book, but it’s on my TBR because the cover is gorgeous and I can’t resist hyped books haha. It’s really good to hear you enjoyed it and it looks like it’ll be a quick and fun read! Great review ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

