The Siren Review

About the book:

25817407.jpg

Title: The Siren

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre & Age Group: Fantasy, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Love is a risk worth taking.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. And though she can’t talk to him, they soon forge a connection neither of them can deny…and Kahlen doesn’t want to.

Falling in love with a human breaks all the Ocean’s rules, and if the Ocean discovers Kahlen’s feelings, she’ll be forced to leave Akinli for good. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

I’m sort of a sucker for anything Kiera Cass writes.

I could not get enough of The Selection series, and unlike many other books, if I came across the next instalment, I would always be in the mood for it. Her books have always been able to lift my spirits up!

Going into The Siren, I had pretty high expectations since I loved The Selection so much. And boy, were they met! This was such a cute book with an undeniable romance, a great fantasy and amazing friendship/sister ties. I knew Kiera Cass wouldn’t let me down!

The story is basically about Kahlen, who is a siren for the Ocean. This means that a long time ago, she almost drowned in the ocean, and she was saved under one circumstance: that she be a siren; meaning she could kill with just a tiny peep of her voice. Kahlen longs to be a human again, so she spends a lot of time just watching the world around her. When she meets a human named Akinli, their worlds collide… even though it is forbidden; and she could be badly punished if she is caught.

Kahlen was a nice character, and I really liked how determined she was. I know I say that a lot, but determination in characters is something I really look out for and often find. Reading the book, I could tell that she did not enjoy drowning people with her voice; and that she would give anything just for those people to be safe. If I were in her shoes, I would probably have the same mindset, but still try not to risk anything since it would be dangerous. Kahlen didn’t seem to care one bit about her consequences if she was caught with Akinli, since she loved him to bits, definitely more than her job as a siren.

Kahlen had a few different sisters throughout the book, but none of them were as fierce and daring as she was. None of them seemed to like being sirens either, but they were still all too scared to risk getting punished. I do appreciate how well they followed the rules and devoted their time to the Ocean, though.

Akinli… HE WAS SO DREAMY. New book crush alert!🚨😍😍He seemed gorgeous, and he was super nice and accepting of Kahlen. He was determined as well, as he would give up anything just to find and be with her as she often travelled around. Despite it being a forbidden love, I totally ship Akinli and Kahlen!❤️

I’d recommend this story to any teen looking for a cute fantasy romance book about sirens. (Hint hint, there aren’t enough stories about them, and they are such interesting creatures!) Just like The Selection, it focuses more on the romance than on the fantasy/dystopia, but learning about sirens were still pretty cool!

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

 

4 thoughts on “The Siren Review

  1. Niraja @ Fantastic Books and Where to Find Them says:

    I’m also a huge Kiera Cass fan, and I think The Selection series definitely receives a lot more hate than it deserves. Akinli was oh-so-dreamy, and I liked how although he was kind and caring, he was a completely different character from Maxon (although the America-Maxon combination is hard to beat!). Overall, I felt as though The Siren was pretty good, but not as good as the first three books in The Selection series! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

