Since You’ve Been Gone Review and Day 19 of 30 Day Book Challenge

About the book:18189606.jpg

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, realistic fiction, mystery, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Source: Bought at my local Chapters store

How I Found Out About It: I had seen many good reviews on it on different blogs and on Goodreads, so when I saw it in the store, I decided to give it a go!

Review: OH MY GOODNESS. I don’t even know what to say. This is one of the best books I have EVER read. I’m obsessed, and now I am in need to read everything by Morgan Matson! This book was absolutely incredible, every page hooked me, and there was not even one dull second of this book. I could not put it down, so much to the point that I finished all 449 of the beautiful pages in 2 days, and books much shorter than this (e.g. Anna and the French Kiss) have taken me 3 or 4 days to complete. It usually takes me this amount of time to finish a book half the size, that’s how mesmerized I was in this book! I loved absolutely everything about this story. The characters, the mystery, the romance, the plot, the writing style… I could go on and on and on about how much I adored this read! One thing that I really liked about this book was how much Emily had changed from the beginning to the end of the book. I won’t spoil much (because you need to drop everything and read this book right now), but I will tell you that Emily came out a much braver and stronger person, knowing much more about herself and her wants in life. In that one summer, she completely changed, inside and out! When I finished this book, I almost cried, because I knew I would miss everything about it soooooo much, and I don’t usually feel that way once I end books. I would 15000000% recommend this to absolutely any teen who is interested in contemporary books with a tad of mystery, because I know that you will fall head over heels for this book!

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

30 Day Book Challenge:

Today’s prompt is my favourite book turned into a movie. I really enjoyed reading The Giver by Lois Lowry, and even though I haven’t seen the movie, I would like to! Review to come, and if I watch the movie, I will let you know!

3636.jpg

7 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone Review and Day 19 of 30 Day Book Challenge

Leave a comment