The Summer I Turned Pretty Review

About the book:

5821978.jpg

Title: The Summer I Turned Pretty

Author: Jenny Han

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

I couldn’t wait for the third book in the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy. I just couldn’t! So, I decided to make my wait a little less painful and pick up The Summer I Turned Pretty, one of Han’s previous books. Enjoy it I did, but you’ve gotta admit, her current trilogy is a lot better.

For a brief summary, this book revolves around Belly, who goes to her family’s special beach house every summer. Through all those summers, she has gotten to know Conrad and Jeremiah, two boys who also come up to the house each year. This summer, though, things have become a little bit different. Will Belly learn to accept the change, as well as the fact that nothing can ever really stay the same?

One thing I didn’t love about this book was the characters. Writing this review a week after I finished the book, I can’t recall too much about them (but that may just be because I didn’t write my review soon enough, oops!🙊). One thing that does stick out to me about Belly, though, is that she was a bit annoying and insensitive, mostly caring about herself rather than others’ needs. And it seems to me like the two main guys have fleshed into one, as well as this other guy- what even was his name again? *Checks book…* Right! It’s Cam!- who went in and out of the story. I don’t personally ship Belly with any of them, but that may change in the next two books as I get more of a glimpse into their personalities.

I did really like the plot of this story, though! Here in Canada, we recently had a huge snowstorm, and it was great to read this one and feel a summery vibe when in reality, it was freezing cold and snowy outside. What a great escape! I have been starting to really enjoy reading fluffy, summery books during the winter, as they just make me forget and escape the cold for a couple hours each!☺️

Overall, The Summer I Turned Pretty was a pretty mediocre story, but I thought that TATBILB had much more developed characters and was all in all more interesting. I can never go wrong with Jenny Han’s writing style, though! If you are currently in the dead of winter and are just looking for a sweet book to warm your spirits, then this book is a great choice! Just don’t expect an amazing romance or out-of-this-world character development.

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

8 thoughts on “The Summer I Turned Pretty Review

  1. Adoptabookaus says:

    I picked up this trilogy after TATBILB as well because I just needed more Jenny Han but I completely agree with you on the Meh factor, the books are quick reads and I liked them but I didn’t find them anything amazing and was annoyed at Belly a lot! Hope you enjoy the next two. It’s so amazing how Jenny’s writing has grown and changed when you compare this series to TATBILB 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann says:

    I loved Jenny Han’s TATBILB series so much more than TSITP. The other books in the series are okay but don’t really live up to the series. I feel like TSITP trilogy was like her coming out novels to introduce her to people that can actually help her produce a better novel/trilogy. I also really didn’t care for her other series she wrote with someone else like Ashes and Ashes or something. They really weren’t that great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

