ARC Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

About the book:

28101540.jpg

Title: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

Author: Louise Gornall

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. When groceries are left on the porch, she can’t step out to get them. Struggling to snag the bags with a stick, she meets Luke. He’s sweet and funny, and he just caught her fishing for groceries. Because of course he did.

Norah can’t leave the house, but can she let someone in? As their friendship grows deeper, Norah realizes Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can lie on the front lawn and look up at the stars. One who isn’t so screwed up.

Source: Thanks so much to Indigo Books & Music Inc for providing me with a physical ARC of this book!

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

Review:

Upon requesting Under Rose-Tainted Skies, I had heard good things about it through the book community, so I decided to give it a shot! Besides, I always devour books about mental health; I just love getting a glimpse into how they live their lives.

Low and behold, this book was another one I adored! It was so good that I gobbled it all up in about an hour. I probably loved pretty much almost everything about this story- the characters, the plot, the morals… and it only starts there.

To synopsize, this story revolves around Norah, who is pretty much housebound- she has OCD and agoraphobia, meaning that she is too scared to leave home. Trying to get at groceries left on her porch with a stick, new neighbour Luke is out there, waiting to meet her. The two bond right away, but will she be able to let him into her house as well as her life?

I really loved Norah and her wit throughout the book. Yes, she did suffer from a severe anxiety disorder, but I really admire that she didn’t let that stop her from having a huge heart and a funny personality. While reading, Norah could almost always be found making witty jokes or just showing off how nice she can be, in spite of her anxiety. I was also a huge fan of her development by the end of the story, but I won’t spoil anything, because that is for you to find out starting on January 3rd, 2017!😊

Can I just say how much I absolutely adored Luke? He is now a new member of my everlasting list of book crushes!😍😍I found that he was super accepting of Norah as well as super loyal to her, and I just loved that he would have done anything to be with her, even though she didn’t feel at ease leaving her house.

I have to admit that I was kind of expecting the ending of this story, as many stories about mental health end pretty similarly. Despite that, though, I was really pleased with the turnout☺️.

All in all, Under Rose-Tainted Skies is definitely not one you’ll want to miss. There are so many amazing things about it, and I’m sure all readers will fall in love, especially those who love stories about mental health involving cute romance and amazing characters! Get your wallets ready, because this is worth every penny!❤️

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review.*

7 thoughts on “ARC Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

Leave a Reply

