Panic Review

About the book:

17565845.jpg

Title: Panic

Author: Lauren Oliver

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, thriller, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

What a disappointment.

If you were to ask me to describe Panic in one word, I will likely say “snoozefest.” This book is likely one of the dullest I’ve ever read, which surprises me because I really liked Lauren Oliver’s Delirium series.

I don’t even know if I can synopsize this off the top of my head because of its major lack of a plot, but with its Goodreads synopsis as a guide, I will try to reword it. So, Panic is a game played annually by the high school seniors in the town. The story revolves around teens Heather, who could never see herself playing in Panic, but finds something worth fighting for and decides to give it a try, and Dodge, who was always excited to play it, especially bearing a secret he thinks will get him all the way to the end. The game may have meant to be a fun way to rival against classmates and friends, but for them, it means much more.

First, I really don’t understand the point of the Panic game- it seems to me like Lauren Oliver basically just shoved us into the story without really explaining how to play or why it was established, even. I felt pretty confused throughout the entire book about this; she just needed to describe things more clearly.

The characters. What? There were characters in this book? Who knew? If they weren’t so bland and unmemorable, then I would probably have something meaningful to say about them here, but I don’t.

I didn’t see much of a plot in this story, either. Not to be harsh, but I pretty much saw it as a bunch of words being tossed onto a page, panicking. But after all, I think it just goes back to the fact that the actual game of Panic wasn’t explored enough.

Lauren Oliver, you are still a great author with an amazing flow of words, but this book here just wasn’t for me. I felt myself wanting to fall asleep every 2 pages. I don’t think it’s you or your book, Lauren, but me and my tastes. Unfortunately, I will have to give this book 2 stars because I wasn’t captivated whatsoever, but I’m sure others with a love for thrillers and competition will adore this book. But if not- Nerve by Jeanne Ryan is a much better choice.

Rating: 2/5 Stars

4 thoughts on “Panic Review

  1. I started reading this and couldn’t even get through the second chapter! I’m so glad that you agree…I was afraid most ppl wouldn’t. So I’m sorry the book was a bummer but I’m glad I’m not alone lol! 😉😂🤣

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems like most people don’t really love this book… 3.57 average rating on Goodreads. It had no plot and such bland characters, which was a bummer because I really liked the Delirium series! I still plan on reading more of Lauren Oliver’s, books, though!

      Like

Leave a comment