ARC Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.* About the book:25546710.jpg

Title: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Author: Chelsea Sedoti

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, mystery, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life. That includes taking her job… and her boyfriend. It’s a huge risk — but it’s just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.

Source: Thanks so much to Sourcebooks Fire for providing me with an e-ARC via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

I think I can safely say that this book is unlike anything I’ve ever read! The voices in it really ring true, along with a mystery that had me sitting right on the edge of my seat!

First, let’s back up a little and summarize the book. Okay, so basically a girl who formerly went to the protagonist Hawthorn’s school, Lizzie Lovett, suddenly went missing after going on a camping trip with her boyfriend, Enzo. Lizzie was a popular, spirited girl, whom many of her peers saw as a perfect, flawless person. Anyway, Hawthorn thought she had an idea of what had happened to her, so she decided to learn a bit more about her and what she was like by getting together and talking with Enzo. Even though some people thought that he had killed Lizzie, Hawthorn didn’t care about the speculation and decided to go on with it. The two ended up bonding and finding the greatness in each other, but you can’t help but wonder, what on earth happened to Lizzie Lovett?

I really liked the characters in this book. They were a real pleasure to read about, and I found that they were very relatable. I found Hawthorn to be very determined and willing to find out about Lizzie’s mystery, even if it included taking big risks such as meeting her boyfriend that others perceived as “creepy,” and exploring the area of the woods where Lizzie and Enzo had been right before it happened, to see if she was still there. That requires a lot of effort and bravery, and for that, I applaud Hawthorn!

Unknown.jpeg

Enzo was not really my favourite character. Even though I absolutely felt for him when his girlfriend had gone missing, I found him to be a bit iffy, if you know what I mean. He showed a lot of mixed feelings towards Hawthorn, and seemed to be a bit secretive. If I were Hawthorn, I probably would’ve ran away if I’d met him, to tell the truth. He was in his 20s, and seemed to be a bit too rebellious for a 17-year old girl.

I can’t seem to comment much on the plot without spilling some spoilers. As much as I really want to spoil and rant about what happened, I will keep my mouth shut, until you pick it up on or after January 3rd! I’d recommend it to anyone looking for a mystery that will keep you mesmerized and addicted, because you will LOVE this! I whipped this almost 400-page ARC up in under 24 hours, that’s how amazing this book was!

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars!

23 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

  1. Diana says:

    I saw this book on NetGalley,not sure why I didn’t try and get it.It sounds wonderful.The mystery and the characters as you’ve described them all sound great.I definitely have to check this out.Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eve Messenger says:

    Oh, wow, you liked this more than I did for sure. I totally agree that the characters ring true and that the story is unique. Alas, I had an issue with the whole werewolf fantasy that never really went anywhere and how Lizzie only had heart to heart talks with two people, both 80-year-old men. Then again, as I write that, it’s pretty darn funny.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

