The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love Review

About the book:

24832518.jpg

Title: The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love

Author: Sarvenaz Tash

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy. Archie and Veronica. Althena and Noth.…Graham and Roxy?

Graham met his best friend, Roxy, when he moved into her neighborhood eight years ago and she asked him which Hogwarts house he’d be sorted into. Graham has been in love with her ever since.

But now they’re sixteen, still neighbors, still best friends. And Graham and Roxy share more than ever—moving on from their Harry Potter obsession to a serious love of comic books.

When Graham learns that the creator of their favorite comic, The Chronicles of Althena, is making a rare appearance at this year’s New York Comic Con, he knows he must score tickets. And the event inspires Graham to come up with the perfect plan to tell Roxy how he really feels about her. He’s got three days to woo his best friend at the coolest, kookiest con full of superheroes and supervillains. But no one at a comic book convention is who they appear to be…even Roxy. And Graham is starting to realize fictional love stories are way less complicated than real-life ones.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

Review:

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love was such an adorable, quick story, and it made me smile so much!😄 I’d heard a tiny bit about it before I picked it up, and it was all good. Thus, when I saw it happily on display at my public library, I decided to give it a read. I have to say, I was very impressed with what I saw!

For a quick summary, this book revolves around 16-year old comic fanatic Graham. He’s known his best friend Roxy for years, but he has a secret- he’s actually also been in love with her for that long. Because the creator of Graham’s favourite comic book series was going to be at the New York Comic Con, he decides to go, and as well, decides that it’s time to admit his feelings for Roxy. Will Graham be able to succeed, as well as meet his idol?

Graham was quite a humorous character, and I could easily find him cracking jokes and just looking to the bright side of things. He had a very bright mind, as well, and his creativity really showed through when he made a special plan to admit his feelings for Roxy. I love positive characters, and there honestly isn’t enough of them! Can Graham become one of my new book crushes?😍🙏

Unlike Graham, Roxy didn’t really stick out to me. As I’m writing this, I finished the book two days ago, and I can barely remember much about her. I guess she was okay, though.

That ending, though!😱 THAT was unexpected. Oh gosh, I really want to spoil and rant about it, but I know it wouldn’t be fair to you guys, as this book is a brand new 2016 release that not too many people have picked up yet. (But I SO hope they do!❤️)

All in all, this story had all the fluff you could possibly get from a young adult contemporary book. Yes, some parts did disappoint me, and the supporting characters just weren’t as memorable as the protagonist, but that didn’t really ruin the book for me. So, for those who love comic books and would like to read about a fellow fanatic, and also would like a great, funny protagonist, don’t miss this one! It’s awesome!😊

Rating: 4/5 Stars

8 thoughts on “The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love Review

Leave a Reply

