ARC Review: The Unforgettables

About the book:

28332735.jpg

Title: The Unforgettables

Author: G.L. Tomas

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Neighbors and best friends Paul and Felicia hoped they’d be friends forever. But as they change, so does their friendship.

She shouldn’t have kissed her…He shouldn’t have liked it.

Starting school changed everything. …

Source: Thanks so much to Rebellious Valkyrie/Patchwork Press for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

May I just say that The Unforgettables is, um… unforgettable?

This was such a cute contemporary romance book, which focuses on so many things teens tend to struggle with, such as academic and friendship troubles. I’m sure any teenager will be able to find something they identify with in this book.

To sum up, this book basically follows the dual-POVs of teens Paul and Felicia, who are neighbours. When Paul moves in to the area, Felicia becomes really keen of him, and they become friends. But everything takes off when they kiss, and drama starts to rise between them. Even despite new relationships due to school starting as well as other factors, will they be able to find their way back to each other?

I personally think that it’s best to go into the story blind, but I still wanted to give you the synopsis above, so you’re able to get more of a ‘feel’ of what the book’s about.

When I found this book on Netgalley, it was so hard to resist that adorable cover! Though I have never taken a huge interest in superheroes and comics, it did make me able to tell that the book would be so cute, with a great bond between the two protagonists. And I was mostly right!

My favourite character in the book was definitely Felicia. She was going through so much during the story, but she was still able to put on a huge smile, while being really nice and understanding. I think she deserved much, much more, though, as she was just the kindest!

Paul, though…. I personally didn’t get such a good vibe out of him. He was pretty two-faced, and he just wasn’t the world’s most agreeable guy. I get that he had to move to a brand new area for senior year (right before he was about to leave for college), and I would definitely be bummed if I were him. But some of the decisions he made during the story were just not okay, and I found myself constantly wanting to shake my head at him during these parts.

Even though I wasn’t such a big fan of Paul, I still think that he and Felicia had a good relationship, setting the fact about his decisions aside (UGH!). I have to admit, I didn’t really ship it at the beginning of the story, but as the two got to know each other better, I found myself growing much fonder of their relationship.

I really enjoyed the ending, and I don’t know about you, but I sure am picky about my book endings! Everything was wrapped up really well, and I liked how things ended up turning out. Admittedly, it almost made me cry😫!

Overall, if you are a teen looking for a semi-light high school romance read, and don’t mind a book with dual perspectives, then this is the one for you! It’s unforgettable, just as the title deems!😊

Rating: 3.75/5 Stars

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

 

One thought on “ARC Review: The Unforgettables

Leave a comment