Everything, Everything Review

About the book:18692431.jpg

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Source: Bought from Indigo

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

THIS BOOK WAS EVERYTHING I WAS EXPECTING. AND MORE.

In other words, I LOVED this book. I could not put it down! Seeing all the hype it was getting and what it seemed to revolve around, I could tell from the get-go that this book would be just too good.

For a brief summary, Everything, Everything centres around an 18-year old girl named Madeline, who is said to have an extremely rare disease called severe combined immunodeficiency, thus is pretty much unable to leave her house. If she does, she could get really sick- to the point where it could get life-threatening. When she oversees new neighbours moving in, she notices Olly, a boy who is around her age. She really wants to get to know him in person, but her disease unfortunately prevents her from doing so. Despite this, she gets on IM with him, and they form a special bond from there. But there are definitely risks to their relationship… are they ones that they’d be willing to take?

Let me start by saying how much I adored the formatting of this story. It’s not just simple writing- there are IMs, emails, letters, illustrations, and even more to add to the awesomeness of the book. I felt like all of that additional stuff really made the book super unique, as most books I read just have paragraph after paragraph after paragraph.

The characters of this book were extremely well thought out and amazing! Firstly, Maddie, our protagonist, is quite the fighter! In spite of her mom’s and nurse’s demands to stay in her house, she is not afraid to do… well… a little “exploring.” She knew the risks that it could lead to, but she didn’t let that get in the way of just savouring life. She was also such a sweet girl, and I really felt bad for her as she went through so much. Maddie totally did NOT deserve it!

Next up is Olly. He was awesome, guys. Though he’s not really the type of guy I’d classify as a fictional crush, I still think he was a super nice, accepting, loyal and determined guy. Even though he knew about Maddie’s condition, he did not let that keep him from loving her as much as he possibly could. The world NEEDS more Ollies, that’s for sure!

Now let’s take a moment to appreciate all the awesome plot twists in this book. If I were to try to predict something that was going to happen, I would always be wrong. Though it wasn’t a mystery story, it definitely had me guessing!

Okay, the ending… I REALLY don’t want to spoil it, but… it was, let’s say UNEXPECTED. It seriously made me gape. Ugh, now all I want to do is just want to rant and rave about it!

The diversity was also great. Maddie wasn’t one, but TWO distinct races. She was half African American and half Japanese, which is just awesome!

I’d recommend this book to any teens wanting a diverse story, tons of plot twists, great morals, and a lovely romance, all tied into one. This one is just for you, guys! PLEEEEEASE read it. It will absolutely amaze you.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

12 thoughts on “Everything, Everything Review

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed this book! I read it when it first came out and enjoyed it too, but I didn’t love it the way you did… I kind of felt like the twist was too easy and just happened as a way to make sure the characters can end up together conveniently, haha. I’d like to read a book where the character actually suffers from this disorder and how they actually their life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

