Proof of Forever Review

Hi everyone!😊

I’m afraid I have to say that Top Ten Thursday will be on hold for a little while. I have been having trouble coming up with topics, and in addition to that, they are very time-consuming and take a very long time to think of, find appropriate books for, format, and all of that jazz. When I first had the idea to participate in them, I thought I would be able to whip up those posts in a jiffy, but I was very wrong. Anyway, onto the review!


screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm.png

Title: Proof of Forever

Author: Lexa Hillyer

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Before: It was the perfect summer of first kisses, skinny-dipping, and bonfires by the lake. Joy, Tali, Luce, and Zoe knew their final summer at Camp Okahatchee would come to an end, but they swore they’d stay friends.

After: Now, two years later, their bond has faded along with those memories.

Then: That is, until the fateful flash of a photo booth camera transports the four of them back in time, to the summer they were fifteen—the summer everything changed.

Now: The girls must recreate the past in order to return to the present. As they live through their second-chance summer, the mystery behind their lost friendship unravels, and a dark secret threatens to tear the girls apart all over again.

Always: Summers end. But this one will change them forever.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

fullsizerender-31.jpg

Since I was really wanting a light contemporary to read, I went into Proof of Forever blind, knowing absolutely nothing about it. I trusted the good reviews I’d been seeing about it, so I decided to give it a read.

Though it was definitely light and fast, in my opinion, it seemed to lack emotional depth and memorability. If you are looking for a memorable novel about summer camp, then this may not be the one to choose.

For a brief plot summary, Proof of Forever follows the POVs of four girls named Luce, Tali, Zoe, and Joy. Despite the fact that they are now too old to attend their beloved summer camp, they vow to remain friends forever. At a camp reunion a couple years later, the four realize that in spite of their vows, their friendship had faded. When they take a photo in a booth, they find themselves back in their last summer at camp. If they want to remain friends forever, then they must go back and retrace their footsteps to do so.

The characters of this book were literally cutouts. I had no reason to remember any of them whatsoever. In order for me to really connect with a character, they need to stand out in a good way, but these four girls all blended in too much. Imagine putting four drops of table salt into water- the salt that dissolves is how I’d describe the protagonists.

I was intrigued by the premise for sure. I really, really was. I just have to say, though, that the way it was executed was sort of unexpected for me and I didn’t necessarily like that. The pieces of the plot puzzle didn’t fit together too often and left me feeling confused, but is this possibly because there were four boring POVs? Probably.

All in all, I don’t have much else to say about this book other than the fact that it disappointed me. I was expecting an extravagant, moving, life-changing story about the joys of summer camp and friendship, but instead, I was given a boring book with almost no substance. To be honest, I am probably being too generous with this 3-star rating. If you want a fast summer read and are eager to know what overnight camp is like, then try this- only if you don’t mind there being four dull main characters. Otherwise, skip it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 4.12.01 PM

 

2 thoughts on “Proof of Forever Review

Leave a Reply

