ARC Review: Follow Me Back

fullsizerender-1

32470611-1.jpg

Title: Follow Me Back

Author: A.V. Geiger

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, mystery/thriller, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murder at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts, this thriller for the online generation will keep you guessing right up to the shocking end.

Source: Thanks so much to SOURCEBOOKS Fire for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

I have always had a fetish for reading books about social media, so needless to say, I was very intrigued by the concept of this book, and thus I decided to request it on Netgalley. And just like I was expecting, out of it came a riveting plot, great character development, and a fabulous story!

To quickly summarize, Follow Me Back revolves around Tessa, who has agoraphobia, and Eric, who is a pop star. Eric has a lot of Twitter fans, but he doesn’t love that type of limelight. Tessa is one of those huge fans, so huge that Eric is intimidated by her. So when another pop star is killed by one of his fans, Eric just can’t take it anymore, so he creates a hate account for himself in the hopes that it will go viral, and so Tessa will realize that he isn’t really so special. In the disguise of Taylor, Eric bonds with Tessa over direct message and the two fall in love. When they decide to actually meet, things aren’t exactly what they seem to be…

Even though they both made their bad decisions at times, I did really like both characters. No book character should be perfect, and Eric and Tessa are the perfect representations of that. Despite all the weak choices they made, I feel like they definitely learned great lessons from their actions and used them to help cope with other things that came their way throughout the book, which I admire. I felt really bad for Tessa in that she suffered with anxiety, but I believe that Eric/Taylor helped her through it quite well. He did not magically cure her like some characters do in these types of books, but instead, he started to bring her out of her shell and made her realize many of the joys of life. I do think they were an amazing couple, too!💗

I also really loved the super fascinating, roller-coaster-like plot of this story. I love a book with lots and lots of plot twists, and Follow Me Back for sure hit the jackpot on that one! This story kept me on my toes guessing, and I just couldn’t put it down! And by the end (not to spoil anything), the mystery takes a HUGE turn and becomes something I would have never thought of! If you’re wondering what I mean, then there’s a great indication that you need to pick up this book.😉

Overall, this book was a fantastic, riveting portrayal of teens and social media, and I enjoyed it immensely. Are you an avid social media user who fangirls over cute celebrities, and as well are looking for a super cool mystery and awesome characters? If so, then I think this book would be perfect for you- so mark your calendars for June 1st!

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-8-03-44-pm

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

12 thoughts on “ARC Review: Follow Me Back

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    I read this book also and I didn’t love it as much xD BUT I love how you mention that not every character has to be perfect. It’s easy for me to forget that sometimes but it’s important to remember, everyone has flaws!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

