ARC Review: The Love Interest

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

31145148

Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, LGBTQ+, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Source: Thanks so much to Indigo Books & Music Inc. for providing me with a physical ARC of this book!

How I Found Out About It: Indigo newsletter

fullsizerender-3

I have to admit, that premise is soooooooo interesting. I was hooked just by reading this book’s synopsis. Despite my excitement to read The Love Interest, I was quite let down. I was expecting this book to be a four or five star read for sure, but instead I was left with no other choice but to give it three mediocre, “meh” stars.

To briefly synopsize, this book follows two teens named Caden, who is classified as a Nice, and Dylan, who is classified as a Bad. Both are teenage spies that belong to a special organization of Love Interests. Then, enter a girl named Juliet. She is forced to choose between the Nice and the Bad, and the one not chosen will end up getting killed. So, both guys start to develop feelings for Juliet and vice versa… but what happens if they turn around and develop feelings for each other instead?

The characters of this book were definitely not favourites of mine. They were forgettable and simply lacked a lot of charm. Caden, the protagonist, was okay and I liked the actions he took during the story, but I forgot about him quickly after I finished. I just want my characters to stand out for once. That’s all I’m asking! Why aren’t the books listening to me?😟

I was also not a big fan of the love triangle. All three of the major characters in this book had feelings for each other at some point, and it was just- UGH! I couldn’t stand it!🙅

As for the plot, there were many plot holes and I often found myself confused or bored while reading, which was too bad, as the premise seemed so promising! I figured that this would be a normal YA LGBTQ+ love story, but instead, I got much more violence and action than what I anticipated. It seemed innocent in the first few chapters, but as the story went on, I lost interest as it got kind of weird quite quickly.

All in all, I expected much more from The Love Interest, but it turned out to be very different from what I had first thought. I still really liked the writing style, though, and I’d still consider reading more from Cale Dietrich. I’d recommend this book to contemporary lovers with a bit of an action taste who don’t mind love triangles– I only meet the first piece of criteria.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-55-29-pm

*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review.*

10 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Love Interest

  1. Azia says:

    Aw man, I was really looking forward to reading this one. I just posted about it for Waiting on Wednesday lol. That’s really sad to hear that the characters are really flat. I’m okay with a love triangle as long as it’s done well but this one sounds like it failed big time haha. I’ll go into this one with lowered expectations, I suppose. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

