The Haters Review

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

Title: The Haters

Author: Jesse Andrews

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

From Jesse Andrews, author of the New York Times bestselling Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and screenwriter of the Sundance award–winning motion picture of the same name, comes a groundbreaking young adult novel about music, love, friendship, and freedom as three young musicians follow a quest to escape the law long enough to play the amazing show they hope (but also doubt) they have in them.

Inspired by the years he spent playing bass in a band himself, The Haters is Jesse Andrews’s road trip adventure about a trio of jazz-camp escapees who, against every realistic expectation, become a band.

For Wes and his best friend, Corey, jazz camp turns out to be lame. It’s pretty much all dudes talking in Jazz Voice. But then they jam with Ash, a charismatic girl with an unusual sound, and the three just click. It’s three and a half hours of pure musical magic, and Ash makes a decision: They need to hit the road. Because the road, not summer camp, is where bands get good. Before Wes and Corey know it, they’re in Ash’s SUV heading south, and The Haters Summer of Hate Tour has begun.

In his second novel, Andrews again brings his brilliant and distinctive voice to YA, in the perfect book for music lovers, fans of The Commitments and High Fidelity, or anyone who has ever loved—and hated—a song or a band. This witty, funny coming-of-age novel is contemporary fiction at its best.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads/Blogging

fullsizerender-3

Jesse Andrews’ other book, Me & Earl, and the Dying Girl, was a true winner for me. I loved its wit, humour and charm, so I decided that I couldn’t go wrong with picking up The Haters…. right?

It turned out that hence the fairly negative reviews I’ve been seeing about this book, I didn’t really enjoy it, either. This book has a 3.44 average rating on Goodreads, so I don’t even know why I bothered reading this thing.

This book’s plot was so messy that I can barely summarize this book from the top of my head, but using its synopsis, I’ll give it my best shot. Okay, so The Haters follows friends Wes and Corey, who are part of a jazz camp. They haven’t been liking it, so they decide to escape. So, with the help of friends, they go on to take the best road trip of their lives and start touring.

First, I must say that I disliked both main characters. This book was honestly such a mess that I couldn’t even identify which one of them played more of a part in everything. They lacked personality traits and they were both rebellious (in a not-so-good way!) and immature. I mean, these guys disregard their parents’ strict rules and do *things* with girls behind their backs, how irresponsible! Kids, if you don’t trust my word and decide to read this book anyway, then DO NOT follow Wes and Corey’s lead in real life. Just don’t.

Next, as for the plot, this uneventful, boring book had not even a single drop of one. It physically HURT my head to read this book- things were so scrambled around and there were so many random characters and ships and just AGHHHHH! This is just my opinion, but if you think that this book has any trace of a plot, you are out of your mind.

Even though I enjoyed Andrews’ writing style in MAEATDG, I don’t know what happened in this one. Maybe it wore off on me, maybe it didn’t go that well with this book’s context… I don’t even know. There are lots of possibilities. All I know is that after this piece of disappointment, I probably won’t be giving Jesse Andrews’ books another chance.

Overall, this book definitely had the potential to be a favourite, but it simply DID NOT FOLLOW THROUGH. I could try to recommend it to music lovers in bands, but I simply cannot guarantee that you’ll enjoy it. Truthfully, I am being extra generous with this 2 star rating- I did not like this book one bit.


Rating:

🌟🌟

*I haven’t yet had the chance to make a 2-star rating edit similar to my other ones- I will put it here once I do*
2 thoughts on “The Haters Review

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I heard the same thing about this book from the Youth Librarian at my library. She said it was weird and she did not like it. She warned me against reading it, though I don’t read a lot of contemporary, because she was that put off by it.
    Excellent feedback!! 😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

