ARC Review: Girl Out of Water

fullsizerender-1

29640839.jpg

Title: Girl Out of Water

Author: Laura Silverman

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.

Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she love

Source: Thanks so much to SOURCEBOOKS Fire for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

Right when I saw the adorable cover and title of this book, I fell in love, and I just had to press ‘request.’ As I write this review in November, it is fall; about to be winter, and Girl Out of Water made me feel like I was transported right back into the awesome season of summer!

I would first like to recognize that the author, Laura Silverman, has been having some hardships lately, mainly on Twitter with racists and other people of sorts spreading out false rumours of this book. I personally don’t use Twitter very often, so I never got to see what exactly was going on, but Laura seems like an amazing person who does not deserve any of this, so I’d like to applaud her for staying strong and not letting the haters get to her!👏👏❤️

Anyway, on with the review. For a quick summary, Girl Out of Water revolves around Anise, who is used to living her life in Santa Cruz, surfing to her heart’s content. She has almost never left her state, and is completely fine with that, until her aunt gets into an accident, and Anise and her dad are forced to stay with cousins in Nebraska. With that, all of her exciting summer plans went down the drain, leaving her very disappointed. What’s worse, is that she is forced to stay in her mom’s old house where she’d grown up; her mom who ran off years ago and had only returned a couple times since. There, Anise meets and bonds with Lincoln, a skater with only one arm, and is thus distracted from her friends back in Santa Cruz, disappointing them. Will Anise be able to find the joys in Nebraska, or will it ultimately come down to wanting to go back home?

Anise was definitely flawed, but that’s a-OK with me! I still really liked her anyway. At first, she was a bit whiny and annoying over her reluctance to go to Nebraska, but I think it was definitely worth it for her to go, as it ended up completely changing her outlook of life. I feel like she was also able to find the fun in whatever she did; wherever she went, and I really enjoyed following her footsteps for that reason. Anise was also an awesome cousin- she cared so much about her aunt’s three kids and their needs!

My other favourite character was the awesome Lincoln. (Yes, Lincoln, as in Lincoln, Nebraska!😜) He had such an upbeat, infectious spirit, and he didn’t let the fact that he only had one arm get to him. In fact, I think it pushed him even harder to be the best he could be! Reading the book, I was always very eager to read about him, as he spruced up the storyline and made things super fun, especially with his adventurous, jubilant personality.

The ending of this story was also great, with things being wrapped up very nicely, without any hanging questions still left to be answered.

I am very surprised that this book is only Laura Silverman’s debut- it was absolutely astonishing, and I can only imagine how awesome any future works of hers will be!

All in all, I was very impressed by Girl Out of Water. I devoured it in two sittings- that’s how amazing it was! If you are a fan of light-hearted, summery books with fabulous characters, great morals, a strong emphasis on family, and wonderful writing, you can’t miss this gem of a book once it releases on May 1st!

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-44-54-pm

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: Girl Out of Water

  1. Kristilyn says:

    I can’t wait to read this one! I’ve heard nothing but good things. It sounds like a perfect book to pick up now that the snow is gone (well, almost gone) — and I love a book that’s a quick read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

