ARC Review: Gold Rush

30235446

Title: Gold Rush

Author: Jennifer Comeaux

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Liza Petrov’s entire life has been about skating and winning her sport’s top prize – Olympic gold. She’s stayed sheltered inside her bubble, not daring to stray from her destined path.

Until she meets Braden Patrick.

He makes her heart flutter with possibility, and for the first time she gets a taste of a normal teenage life. She longs to have both the boy and the gold, but stepping outside her bubble comes with a price. As Liza begins to question both her future and her past, can she stay focused on the present and realize her ultimate dream?

Source: Thanks so much to Weapenry Co-Op for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

When I was looking for books to read on Netgalley, Gold Rush caught my eye with its adorable cover and synopsis, so I decided to hit request. I haven’t read too much about skating, and it definitely interested me to in this book.

Even though I do have to say that this book is a tad cliché, I still enjoyed it. I absolutely loved the characters and the morals of this story!

For a brief synopsis, Gold Rush revolves around Liza, who is a competitive skater bound to compete in the Sochi Olympics. Her whole life revolves around skating with a need for lots and lots of practice if she is to be successful in any way. But then she meets a guy named Braden, and her whole life turns upside down. She finds herself falling for him in a way not necessarily possible for a skater at her level of competing. Will she be able to successfully keep track of both her skating and Braden?

I really liked both Liza and Braden, but for this review, I will be focusing a bit more on Liza because I have more to say about her. I adored her perseverance regarding her dreams about skating and her parents’ mystery, and I can’t believe how strong she was being under so much pressure all the time! I know I could never handle the commitment of being a competitive athlete, but I just loved how committed Liza was to her sport. Also, watching her grow so much by the end of the book was amazing!❤️

As for Braden, HE WAS SUCH A STUNNER OMG!! SUCH a sweet, caring guy, and he was adorable with Liza!😍

Now for the plot, as this story mostly focused on the characters, there honestly wasn’t too much of one. In spite of that, though, I do think this book ended quite well with all of its loose ends tied up in a neat little bow, but it was still a bit predictable. I’ve got to say, though, that despite trying skating last year and being *ridiculously bad* at it, this book made me feel like getting back on skates and trying again!

Overall, Gold Rush was a cute, fun read all about chasing your dreams, and I definitely enjoyed it. I’d recommend it to those in search of a sweet romance story with sports involved, because even though the concept is not the most original, I think you’ll still devour it for its morals.

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

One thought on “ARC Review: Gold Rush

  1. Jennifer Comeaux says:

    Hi Kayla!

    Thank you so much for reading and reviewing Gold Rush! I wanted to ask if you could post your review on Amazon. Every little bit of added exposure there helps! Here’s the link:

    Thanks so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

