Top Ten Thursday #45

Hi everyone!☺️

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, then you probably know that contemporary is my #1 favourite genre, no doubt. I mention a contemporary book or author in *almost* every one of my posts, haha! But today, I wanted to focus more on other genres I don’t read as much, such as dystopian, fantasy, historical fiction, and sci-fi, so I will be centring this week’s Top Ten Thursday around my favourite authors NOT from the YA contemporary genre.

So let’s-a-go!☺️


1.

4039811.jpg13335037

I really enjoyed Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy along with her new release Carve the Mark. When’s the second book in her new series coming out? I’m hungry for it!😛

2.

13414088.jpg24763621

Since S. Jae-Jones is a brand new author, I have only read her beautiful debut Wintersong, but I really hope to read some more of that lyrical prose. No, scratch hope. I’m desperately aching to!😫

3.

1192311.jpg17234658

Claudia Gray’s Firebird series, in my eyes, was a definite winner. I am aware that she has more books (yay!), so I have my fingers crossed that I’ll get to them sometime!💞

4.

4684322.jpglunar-chronicles-marissa-meyer

Haha, there is no way I could have written this post without mentioning the amazing Marissa Meyer and her gorgeous Lunar Chronicles books. I am STILL intimidated by Winter and thus have not gotten around to it, and I am also still waiting to read Heartless, but I am positive that they will both earn a special spot in my heart.💜

5.

2936493.jpg17565845

Panic is NOT my favourite Lauren Oliver book whatsoever, but it was just the first one I found in my photos, haha! Anyway, I do have pretty mixed opinions towards Oliver’s books, but I absolutely loved her Delirium series!

6.

4637539.jpg13455782

TAHEREH MAFI IS LITERALLY THE BEST AND I NEED A CHANCE TO HAVE THE BEAUTIFUL FURTHERMORE IN MY HANDS!!💞 😫

7.

1077326.jpg3

Admittedly, I have only read the first three Harry Potter books, but hopefully that will change into a larger number soon. I absolutely love J.K. Rowling’s writing and imagination!👌

8.

2987125.jpg10507293

By now, you guys should all know about my love for Kiera Cass’s books and The Selection, but if not, I will scream it out loud and right into your ear: I LOVE THE SELECTION!❤️

9.

kathy.jpg25647879

As far as YA historical fiction authors go, I haven’t read multiple books from very many of them, but Kathy Kacer impresses me every time with her amazing stories. I even met her when she visited my school, too, so that’s a bonus!💞

10.

135712.jpg11680580.jpg

Ugh, I haven’t read a Kit Pearson book in such a long time! It’s bothering me now. Maybe I should go out and find one before I go crazy!😂


So tell me, have you read any of these books? Opinions? Do you like any of these authors, too? Who are some of your favourite authors from outside your preferred genre? Let me know in the comments below.

Au revoir!💜

*All author images and book covers are from Goodreads or Google- they do not belong to me under any circumstance.*
9 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday #45

  1. ashley says:

    I have read both J.K. Rowling and Veronica Roth’s books. I will no longer read anything that Roth releases. I would love for J.K. Rowling to write a new series set in the Wizarding World.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lilahsbookshelf says:

    Great post! I’ve read Harry Potter and the Selection. I’m hoping to read Divergent soon and finish Cinder eventually. I read half of it a while ago and never got around to finishing it. Is the rest of the series good?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sophiethestark says:

    I’m glad you’re stepping out of your comfort zone, Kayla! These are certainly wonderful choices and I hope you get to read more like these soon 🙂
    My favorite genre is fantasy so I’m the opposite: I try to read other stuff like contemporaries hahaha So far, it’s been a pleasant experience 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

