ARC Review: The Upside of Unrequited

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

30653853.jpg

Title: The Upside of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, LGBTQ+, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

Source: Thanks so much to Indigo Books & Music Inc. for providing me with a physical ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

fullsizerender-3

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda was honestly one of the cutest, fluffiest books I’ve ever read. Since I loved pretty much every page of it, when I found out that Becky Albertalli had another book coming out, I knew I needed it in my life. So, I got sooooo giddy when I found this book as an option in the weekly Indigo ARC newsletter, thus I requested it right away!

For a brief synopsis, The Upside of Unrequited revolves around a teenage girl named Molly. She’s had 26 crushes, but none of them returned her feelings, so she has become afraid of rejection. Her sister, on the other hand, meets a girl whom she immediately falls head over heels with, and the good news is that she also comes with another cute guy for her to like. There’s also one of Molly’s coworkers, a guy named Reid. She considers him as a good friend, but could it be possible that she could develop feelings for him, too?

I have to say that I ADORED Molly. She had all the traits I like in YA protagonists- she was quirky, perceptive, witty, relatable…. and the list goes on and on and on with absolutely zero stops of stopping. She had many similar thoughts to the ones that ramble around in my head every day, and I was very happy to finally be acquainted to a book character who thinks at least a tiny bit like me. I also loved the sisterly bond between her and Cassie- YAY for family ties!!❤️

Reid was just adorable, and I felt myself swooning over him throughout the entire story. There was a tiny bit of a love triangle and Molly found herself indecisive between Reid and another guy named Will, but I know that I will always be shipping Molly and Reid– no matter what!

All in all, The Upside of Unrequited without a doubt checked all the boxes for a new favourite. I loved all the characters, the writing was once again awesome, and the plot was engaging. There was also a big dab of family ties and diversity, both of which we NEED more of in YA. I think any avid YA contemporary lover looking for something diverse will definitely devour this one!

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-44-54-pm.png

*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review.*

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Upside of Unrequited

Leave a Reply

