Run Review

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

23613983

Title: Run

Author: Kody Keplinger

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and a mama who’s not exactly sober most of the time. Everyone in town knows the Dickinsons are a bad lot, but Bo doesn’t care what anyone thinks.

Agnes Atwood has never gone on a date, never even stayed out past ten, and never broken any of her parents’ overbearing rules. Rules that are meant to protect their legally blind daughter—protect her from what, Agnes isn’t quite sure.

Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. And it’s the sort of friendship that runs truer and deeper than anything else.

So when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, with police sirens wailing in the distance, desperate to get out of town, Agnes doesn’t hesitate to take off with her. But running away and not getting caught will require stealing a car, tracking down Bo’s dad, staying ahead of the authorities, and—worst of all—confronting some ugly secrets.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

fullsizerender-3

Kody Keplinger is quite a well-known author in the YA genre… whose work I have only picked up for the first time now. Wow, I can’t believe I waited for this long! I have to say that Run definitely did not disappoint!

For a quick synopsis, this book follows the dual POVs of two teenage girls named Bo and Agnes, who are polar opposites- Bo is the wild, rowdy one, and Agnes is the innocent, quiet one. In spite of their differences, the two bond right away and hold each other tight, and this is basically the story of how their friendship grows and blossoms even during the hardest of times.

The characters in Run were more three-dimensional and memorable than most characters I read about, which amazes me, especially as this book has two POVs! This just goes to show that Kody Keplinger put lots of effort into making their perspectives sound completely different from each other, just like the characters are themselves.

Bo went through many family and internal troubles over the span of the read, but I loved how she was still be able to be the boisterous, unique person she was meant to be.  I could relate to Agnes much more, though, with her warm, loving heart and desire to always do the right thing. Like Bo, Agnes also went through a lot in the novel, and my heart honestly broke for both of them!😞

When I first started this book, it was so slow and I thought that it would end up with a 3-star rating, tops. I’m very glad I read on, though, since as the story completely unfolded, I found myself hooked.❤️

There are definitely controversial opinions on this book’s ending, but even though it was quite open-ended, I still believe that it worked well with its context, wrapping up the story nicely. I liked seeing that things could go in different directions after the book was closed, and it was definitely fun to imagine where the characters would find themselves in 10-20 years!

Overall, Run was a raw, touching, unforgettable story that I know I’ll remember for a long time. I really enjoyed there being more of a focus on friendship and family ties rather than romance, and I definitely think that Bo and Agnes would be great role models of what a true friendship should look like. For those wanting a refreshing story about true friendship, you must run to your bookstore right this instant and snatch this book off the shelves!💗

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-10-22-25-am

 

4 thoughts on “Run Review

Leave a Reply

