Top Ten Thursday #43

Hi everyone!😄

As a book blogger, you have probably used or even just heard of Netgalley. If not, then it is a website that you can use to request FREE e-ARCs in exchange for honest reviews, and I’ve gotten to read some great books from it!

But once in a while, you get that traumatic denial email. The email that makes you question yourself as a blogger and ask, “What did I do wrong?” (Chances are, you did nothing wrong. The book has probably already been requested by too many readers or the publisher can’t send it to your region because of publishing rights.)

Anyway, today I wanted to admit some of the books that I have been declined for on the site. Many of them were the result of me not knowing what I was doing when I first started on the site and requesting all the books my heart wanted. (DON’T do that, by the way. Just don’t.) Here’s a shoutout to the amazing Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions for inspiring me to write up this post!

So let’s get started!

1.

cover88339-medium.png

The Memory Book by Lara Avery was one of the first requests I ever made on Netgalley, but it was declined almost right away. Luckily, though, I was able to get my hands on it once it came out and I loved it!💜

2.

cover83440-medium.png

I as well got my hands on The Museum of Heartbreak after it was released, and let me tell you, it was a snoozefest! It was so boring and cliché, which was too bad since it had so much potential to become a favourite!

3.

cover77702-medium.png

I have not gotten to read With Malice yet, and I don’t know if I ever will. There have been mixed reviews about it, and I don’t really know which side to trust.😁

4.

cover78513-medium.png

I actually have The Art of Being Normal on deck as one of my next reads, but I was quite upset after being declined for it on Netgalley. Still, it looks like a very diverse, coming-of-age novel. I can’t wait to dive in!

5.

cover89188-medium.png

During my days of having an unfinished Netgalley profile, I requested Freedom’s Just Another Word (from a small publisher, by the way) only to be declined. I can’t find this book anywhere, which sucks because it really looked like a good one!

6.

cover85010-medium.png

Looking back now, I’m not too sure if I would have enjoyed Root Beer Candy and Other Miracles, anyway. Reading its synopsis now, it just looks kind of boring, to be honest.

7.

cover84281-medium.png

Now THIS ONE was a denial that I was quite upset about. I was so pumped to travel to Paris with the characters in this book and spend an awesome summer with them, but unfortunately, the denial email then dawned on me. If I find it anywhere, I will definitely be grabbing it.😉

8.

cover96805-medium.png

I was also quite disappointed to get denied for The Kindness Club by Courtney Sheinmel. It seemed so cute and I have loved Sheinmel’s books in the past- they all boast such great lessons and are light, fun reads!

9.

cover93444-medium.png

Not the most unique-seeming book I have ever come across, but I was still a bit sad upon denial for A Tragic Kind of Wonderful. And its mixed reviews make me a bit hesitant to read it if I ever do get the chance to.😕

10.

cover101383-medium.png

Speed of Life is yet another book with such an interesting premise, but it once again has a ton of mixed reviews.😧

So tell me, have you read any of these books? Opinions? What books have you gotten declined for on Netgalley? Have you been approved or denied for any of these in particular? Let me know in the comments below.

Au revoir!💜

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday #43

  1. ashley says:

    I was declined for Caraval by Stephanie Garber, Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige, The Glass Sentence by S.E. Grove, Fates and Traitors by Jennifer Chiaverini, The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oaks and Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine. I wasn’t disappointed by getting declined for any of them as I actually ended up reading and buying some of them anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. otakutwins1 says:

    I get declined for quite a few books since I joined xP and a lot of them were books I really really wanted to read too. But I did get The Memory Book from the library and I loved it, it was so emotional😭

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

