Enter Title Here Review

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

22060619.jpg

Title: Enter Title Here

Author: Rahul Kanakia

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

I’m your protagonist—Reshma Kapoor—and if you have the free time to read this book, then you’re probably nothing like me.

Reshma is a college counselor’s dream. She’s the top-ranked senior at her ultra-competitive Silicon Valley high school, with a spotless academic record and a long roster of extracurriculars. But there are plenty of perfect students in the country, and if Reshma wants to get into Stanford, and into med school after that, she needs the hook to beat them all.

What’s a habitual over-achiever to do? Land herself a literary agent, of course. Which is exactly what Reshma does after agent Linda Montrose spots an article she wrote for Huffington Post. Linda wants to represent Reshma, and, with her new agent’s help scoring a book deal, Reshma knows she’ll finally have the key to Stanford.

But she’s convinced no one would want to read a novel about a study machine like her. To make herself a more relatable protagonist, she must start doing all the regular American girl stuff she normally ignores. For starters, she has to make a friend, then get a boyfriend. And she’s already planned the perfect ending: after struggling for three hundred pages with her own perfectionism, Reshma will learn that meaningful relationships can be more important than success—a character arc librarians and critics alike will enjoy.

Of course, even with a mastermind like Reshma in charge, things can’t always go as planned. And when the valedictorian spot begins to slip from her grasp, she’ll have to decide just how far she’ll go for that satisfying ending. (Note: It’s pretty far.)

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

I came across Enter Title Here on Netgalley a while ago and was immediately intrigued. I absolutely love reading about high schoolers, so I pressed the request button, but I was unfortunately declined.

Nevertheless, I knew I would read it anyway one day. So, when I found it sitting on one of the shelves at my public library, I snatched it right away, knowing I was in for a good read. And it was- for the most part, at least.

Basically, this book revolves around high schooler Reshma, who is a very high achiever. She has always gotten top marks and knows she is bound to get into Stanford, but needs more than just academic achievements to put on her application. So, when she is approached by a literary agent, Reshma decides to take the plunge and write a novel starring herself. But her goal is to make herself an interesting protagonist, something she can’t do if she’s studying all the time. Will she be able to successfully write her novel as well as get into the university of her dreams?

Honestly, I have mixed feelings about Reshma. On one hand, I could relate to her struggles of being a student quite well, but on the other, she was a bit too whiny for my liking. She is probably the biggest perfectionist that I have ever read about in a YA book, and though I was happy to read about a fellow over-achiever, I found it getting a little annoying as she complained so much. Also, I really liked how she was able to take a stand for what she believed in even if it was risky, and I absolutely loved the perseverance she showed in the book while writing her novel and trying to become valedictorian. I can definitely see how people could both like or dislike her, to tell you the truth.

The plot was smooth and easy to follow, and I never found myself getting bored flipping the pages. It was the ending that dissatisfied me, though. I feel like it ended rather abruptly, and I still had quite a few questions that weren’t answered. Rahul Kanakia, would you mind writing an epilogue to this book, please? I’m hungry for more!

Overall, if you are looking for a *unique* book about high school troubles, I would definitely recommend Enter Title HereI loved the writing style and the plot had a good flow, but I just don’t know if I loved Reshma. Anyway, this story was a gem that I know I’ll remember!

screen-shot-2017-03-05-at-10-22-25-am

2 thoughts on “Enter Title Here Review

  1. Kelly says:

    It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the writing style, even if the main character in the book wasn’t your favorite. I have a lot of favorite books where I feel the same way, and if the plot is interesting enough, it usually makes up for it! I’ve wanted to read this one for a long time, and after reading this review, I’m definitely bumping it up on my TBR list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

