The Beginning of Everything Review

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

13522285.jpg

Title: The Beginning of Everything

Author: Robyn Schneider

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: in one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met, achingly effortless, fiercely intelligent, and determined to bring Ezra along on her endless adventures.

But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: if one’s singular tragedy has already hit and everything after it has mattered quite a bit, what happens when more misfortune strikes?

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a lyrical, witty, and heart-wrenching novel about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.

Source: School library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

fullsizerender-3

Learning that the protagonist (and author) of this book were Jewish like me, I had very high hopes for this story. Though it did seem a bit cliché, I love being able to read about a fellow Jew as I don’t get to very often. Unfortunately, though, I was sincerely let down.

The Beginning of Everything centres around Ezra, who believes that everyone has a tragedy lurking behind them. His tragedy was that he had gotten into a car accident which shattered his knee- as well as his whole life. His old friends turn their backs to him, so he finds himself regrouped with the misfits of his school. In this group he meets a girl named Cassidy with whom he quickly bonds. But will he be able to handle any other tragedy that comes his way?

Ezra as a character was okay, but I just feel like he didn’t stand out within the sea of all of the *many* contemporary characters I read about. He was very intuitive and tended to be very knowledgeable about life, though, which I did like. But when I look back at my experience with this book in a year, will I remember him? Hm. The odds are pretty slim.

Cassidy was also pretty unmemorable, even more so than Ezra. I felt bad for her regarding her circumstances, but there unfortunately weren’t many character traits of hers that I could pinpoint and retain for my writing of this review.

The plot, to say the least, was as cliché as most other contemporary plots I read about, if not more! I’m sure that if you’re an avid contemporary romance reader, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about, haha😂 .

Overall, this book just blended in, whereas I like my books to stand out in the crowd. That was too bad- I expected much more from this story! Anyway, for those who don’t mind yet ANOTHER cliché romance book or are brand new fans of the genre, definitely feel free to dive in! But if not, then I’d recommend that you skip it. Trust me, you’re not missing out on too much.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-55-29-pm

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of Everything Review

  1. Kristilyn says:

    I read this one last month and thought it was enjoyable! The beginning was horrific, but I loved that idea of having a certain point in your life where your life actually begins. It wasn’t the most memorable book, but definitely one that will stick with me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

