ARC Review: Bookishly Ever After

screen-shot-2017-02-01-at-12-37-13-pm

21018154.jpg

Title: Bookishly Ever After

Author: Isabel Bandeira

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary.

But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?

Source: Thanks so much to Spencer Hill Press for granting my wish for this e-ARC via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

While scanning my options on Netgalley one day, I found Bookishly Ever After and it caught my eye. I absolutely love reading books with fellow bookish protagonists, so I knew from the very start that this book would be one I would adore. So, I pressed the wishbone and crossed my fingers, and then one day, I got the best news- for the first time ever, my wish had been granted!

It turned out that I did really enjoy this book, in a 4 star kind of way. I liked the 3-dimensional characters and felt enthralled in their story, but just like all other 4 star books, there were some flaws that I just couldn’t ignore.

To briefly synopsize, this book revolves around a girl named Phoebe who, as you could probably already tell, is a bookworm. When she suspects a boy named Dev of liking her, she finds some advice in her favourite books and considers what the characters would do in her situation so she could follow their footsteps. But if her plan to be more like her favourite characters doesn’t work, then Phoebe can go right back to drowning in books… right?

At first, Phoebe was annoying. This is not even an ‘I feel’ statement, as she really, 100%, was. All she really wanted to do was read, and despite the fact that I feel like that sometimes most of the time, it just got to be too much. Good news, though- I warmed up to her by the end of the book! As she grew and developed, she became a much more relatable and friendly character.

The love interest, Dev, was SOOOO dreamy! Haha, I loved him.❤️ He was the perfect guy, being adventurous, an actor, and so many other awesome things. I want him to make me swoon even more- hopefully in the next book in the series!😄

Unfortunately, after all these good things come the few flaws. I just felt like there wasn’t really too much of a plot to the story; that the author just strung together a bunch of events without making them flow. Also, there were excerpts of the books Phoebe reads placed between chapters, and I usually just skimmed these parts- they didn’t add much to the story, if anything at all.

Overall, Bookishly Ever After was a cute, fluffy story, but its flaws made it lose the ‘wow’ factor from me. I think that any teenage reader who often searches for bookishly ever afters will definitely adore this read because of its relatable protagonist, swoon-worthy romance, and more!

fullsizerender-6

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: Bookishly Ever After

  1. Briana says:

    I’m honestly really iffy about books about books and bookish protagonists because sometimes they seem overdone to me, but you raise so many positives about this one that I might have to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

