Top Ten Thursday #37

Hi everyone!๐Ÿ˜„

Lately, I’ve been finding that I’ve been changing my opinions about many of the books I read, whether it be for better or for worse. I give them a rate on Goodreads, but a couple months later, I find myself shaking my head about those opinions. So, for this week’s Top Ten Thursday, I wanted to share a list of some of these books with you guys. Hope you enjoy!๐Ÿ˜‰

So let’s get started!

1.

26796210.jpg

Original Rating: 4.25 Stars

New Rating: 3.5 Stars

I really enjoyed the family aspect of this book at first, but then after seeing so many other bloggers start to rant about it, I realized that I really disliked a specific element of the story, too. (Not going to get spoilery!๐Ÿ™…)

2.

592089.jpg

Original Rating:ย 4 Stars

New Rating:ย 3 Stars

Ugh, I was such an easy rater back then! This book had the worst ending, annoying characters, and super unrealistic expectations for 2025! I rated it 4 stars purely based on my enjoyment level, and looking back now, I really don’t think it deserved that rating.

3.

37732.jpg

Original Rating:ย 4.5 Stars

New Rating:ย 4 Stars

Not such a big drop, but I remember really loving this when I first read it, but as I reflect back on it now, my reading tastes have changed a lot since then, and I don’t know if I’d enjoy it as much if I read it today.๐Ÿ˜Ÿ

4.

27969076.jpg

Original Rating:ย 4.5 Stars

New Rating:ย 4 Stars

I thought that this book was super amazing when I first read it, but now it only seems average to me.

5.

9473066.jpg

Original Rating:ย 4 Stars

New Rating:ย 3 Stars

I read this a year ago and remember close to nothing about it. Why did I even rate it 4 stars??

6.

8621462.jpg

Original Rating:ย 4.5 Stars

New Rating:ย 5 Stars

I think that as my thoughts sunk into my mind, this book became much more special than only 4.5 starsโ˜บ๏ธ

7.

24612600.jpg

Original Rating:ย 3 Stars

New Rating:ย 3.5 Stars

I can’t remember a lot about this story as I read it back in 2015, but I think that as time went on, I discovered that it had a better meaning to it than what I first thought.๐Ÿ‘Œ

8.

2536134.jpg

Original Rating:ย 3 Stars

New Rating:ย 3.5 Stars

What I think made me initially give this book 3 stars was the fact that it took my school reading group over a month to read it, so it seemed longer and more spaced out than it really was. If I were to read it for the first time now, though, I think I’d enjoy it a lot more.

9.

25051421.jpg

Original Rating:ย 5 Stars

New Rating:ย 4 Stars

This was just a cutesy Wattpad short story making fun of cliche stories on the site, so I guess at first I gave it 5 stars out of excitement, but excitement only.

10.

452306.jpg

Original Rating:ย 5 Stars

New Rating:ย 4.5 Stars

Unfortunately, I think it was the fact that I DNF’ed the second book of this series that kind of ruined this book for me. It was good and all, but the second book made me see its predecessor in a whole new light.

So tell me, have you read any of these books? Opinions? Are there any books you’ve changed your mind about? Let me know in the comments below.

Au revoir!๐Ÿ’œ

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday #37

  1. YAandWine says:

    It’s interesting how getting a little distance from a book can help you better form your opinion on it. I also think books mean different things to me at different times based on what’s going on in my life, so something that really resonates with me today might not as much tomorrow. This is a really interesting post idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine says:

    Great post! You know, I do feel the same. Sometimes it’s hard to rate a book. That Six of Crows.. I am having second thoughts about my rating too.. haha.. That book Bar Code Tattoo.. is that book about using the tattoo to keep track of where each person is or what is that Tattoo use for?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

