ARC Review: If This Is Home

fullsizerender-1

29855819.jpg

Title: If This Is Home

Author: Kristine Scarrow

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

When her mom is diagnosed with terminal cancer, Jayce searches for her estranged father, hoping he can fix everything.

Jayce Loewen has had to take on a lot of responsibility over the years. Her single mom works two jobs and long hours, leaving Jayce in charge of her four-year-old sister most of the time. When her mom is diagnosed with cancer, Jayce decides to track down her long-absent father in the hope that he will be able to make everything okay again.

Looking for her dad was one thing, but when she actually finds him, Jayce is in for a real shock. When everything in her life seems to be going wrong, Jayce has to figure out who her family really is, and how to live with the possibility of losing the person she loves most.

Source: Thanks so much to Dundurn for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

I felt as if I was really able to find home in If This Is Home. This book was absolutely everything I wanted it to be, and more!

What attracted me into requesting this was the cover, as well as the intriguing synopsis. I love me some books centring around families, as they are a great break from the romance reads, and this was definitely the book I was searching for☺️.

For a quick summary, If This Is Home revolves around 16-year old Jayce, who lives at home with her mom and younger sister. Her dad left them when Jayce was very young and has no contact with them, so when her mom gets sick with terminal lung cancer, with the help of a friend, Jayce decides to go on a hunt for her father, and when she finds him, she isn’t too happy with what she sees. Will she be able to pull through a life without her mom, or will she find someone that will happily take care of her and her sister?

The characters of this book were very in-depth and just amazing, and I loved the protagonist we had in Jayce. I felt so sorry for her as she went through everything! Anyway, despite all that, she was very strong and responsible, and instead of breaking down into pieces when she found out about her mom’s illness, she instead toughened up and did everything she could to prepare things for afterwards. She was also a great sister and friend, and to be completely honest, I loved following her footsteps😉.

Kurt was also a sweet, loyal guy, and I really enjoyed that this book wasn’t really about the romance between the two, but about the friendship. Jayce and Kurt were fabulous as friends, but I think they would be great as a couple, too!❤️

The one thing that I didn’t necessarily love about this book was the ending. I know, I’m so picky when it comes to these! I feel like there were still some loose ends to be tied, and that it came to quite an abrupt stop. Like, hello, I still have questions!😝 I am in need to see a sequel or an epilogue to this awesome story.

All in all, If This Is Home was a fantastic, coming-of-age story, and it gave me so many FEELS. Anyone looking for a short but sweet read about family and friendship with amazing characters MUST pick this one up, starting on January 28th!😉

fullsizerender-6

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

8 thoughts on “ARC Review: If This Is Home

  1. Inked Epiphanies says:

    Great review! I am glad you enjoyed it! I am always hesitant to read this type of books because I don’t want to see another sugar-coated fairy tail story that was made out a serious issue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

