The Rest of Us Just Live Here Review

fullsizerender-1

23830990.jpg

Title: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, paranormal, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

Award-winning writer Patrick Ness’s bold and irreverent novel powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable.

Source: Public library

How I Found About It: Goodreads/Blogging

fullsizerender-3

Okay, then. This was weird.

I was scouring the library looking for some books to read, and I decided to borrow The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I’d heard only good things about it, and I’d devoured A Monster Callsthus I expected to like it. Unfortunately, though, I don’t think this one was really catered to my tastes. 

For a brief synopsis, this book revolves around Mikey, who is more or less a normal high school student. He has hopes of graduating, getting a good job, and living a happy life. Then there are the indie kids at his school, who live their own lives but mysteriously get killed, one by one. Unlike what some other people think, Mikey decides that they aren’t all that bad, and decides to help them out and look into the mysteries of their deaths.

Mikey was a good character, but I don’t really think he stood out much. Like many other teenage protagonists, he had his love, school, family, and friendship problems, many of which were touched on in this story. For some reason, I felt like I couldn’t really relate to him much, but I just can’t place my finger on it.

I also thought the plot was a bit strange and confusing. I should have known better when I picked up this book- paranormal books and I do NOT get along! (Well, we do, like, 5% of the time, but SHHH!) Like, why were those kids called ‘indie?’ Did they have special powers, because if so, they were NOT clear in the book. And what even were those chapter starters? They had absolutely nothing to do with the story. I just think I had a bit of trouble seeing the ends meet in this book, is all.

In many books like this, it is the morals that I like best, and this book is definitely no exception. There were lots of great lessons, ranging from learning to put others’ needs before yours to understanding that everyone is awesome in their own kind of way, no matter who they are.

All in all, as much as I wanted to like The Rest of Us Just Live Here, it just fell flat for me with its unmemorable characters and weird storyline. I’ll probably have to make a note for myself to check for paranormal elements whenever possible, because those are always the types of books that irk me. So, if you’re an avid fan of paranormal stories set in a high school atmosphere, then I’m sure you’ll like this one more than I did! But if you devour contemporaries and aren’t used to confusing plots, then I’d say skip it.

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-55-29-pm

18 thoughts on “The Rest of Us Just Live Here Review

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy it. It’s not my favourite Ness book but have to admit I really liked it. If you’ve ever watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer it kind of reminded me of that except told from the pov of the other students in the school rather than Buffy and her gang. They’re just normal kids trying to get on with their lives while someone else tries to prevent an apocalypse. The excerpts were probably my favourite bit as it was kind like he was taking the mick out of these other programs and books Buffy, Twilight etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheBookishUnderdog says:

    I found this book a bit weird as well. I had to force myself through a lot of it – nothing really seemed to be happening, and all of the paranormal stuff was a bit too much in the background. I know that was the idea, but I felt like it needed to be brought to the forefront a little bit more otherwise what’s the point of it being there? Oh, and to me, indie kids is like the type of clothes they wear and how they do their hair and stuff. Like emo kids or similar.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. whatthelog says:

    Haha I totally agree with everything you say here- but I still really liked it! I guess maybe a good knowledge of paranormal tropes is needed to really get the jokes about the indie kids and stuff? Also I loved the representation of mental illness and how diverse it was 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    Sorry you didn’t like this as much as you were hoping! I haven’t read this (or any other Ness book), but I’ve seen a lot of people saying that this is his weakest book. I hear it’s better to read it before you read anything else by him because you won’t be as let down by it that way. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

