This Adventure Ends Review

fullsizerender-1

27779275.jpg

Title: This Adventure Ends

Author: Emma Mills

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sloane isn’t expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that’s exactly what happens.

Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights up any room, and Gabe, Vera’s twin brother and the most serious person Sloane’s ever met. When a beloved painting by the twins’ late mother goes missing, Sloane takes on the responsibility of tracking it down, a journey that takes her across state lines—and ever deeper into the twins’ lives.

Filled with intense and important friendships, a wonderful warts-and-all family, shiveringly good romantic developments, and sharp, witty dialogue, this story is about finding the people you never knew you needed.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

fullsizerender-3

Meh. Just another light contemporary story.

I mean, I did like this book, but it just didn’t STAND OUT. I may be able to remember it a day after I finished it, but it is debatable whether or not I will in a year.

What got me to check this book out of the library was that cover (IT’S PERFECTION!💘 ) as well as hype- all of my blogger friends who read it had absolutely adored it. Maybe I read too many contemporaries, or maybe the story went over my head, but This Adventure Ends was not really the one for me.

For a brief synopsis, this book revolves around a girl named Sloane, who has recently moved to Florida with her family and is forced to start her life over again. At home in New York, she was used to only having one or two close friends- but now in Florida she is bombarded with new buds, especially twins Vera and Gabe. They’d lost their mother several years before, so when a painting of hers goes missing, Sloane decides to take charge and find it, not expecting the things that come along the way…

I found Sloane to be an intelligent, kind character, but it seemed like she really doubted herself at times, which is definitely a normal thing for a teen to do in her situation, but she just went a bit overboard, which kind of annoyed me. I do think she grew by the end by learning what the true meaning of friendship was, though!

On the contrary, Vera was quite the confident, brave girl, always wanting to go out and take risks that Sloane could have never even dreamed of. She absolutely succeeded in bringing Sloane out of her shell and into a world full of exploration, which was awesome! And Gabe, I’m sorry, but I just didn’t find anything special about him. I feel like if the book was longer, he could have been developed a bit more.

And then…. we have the plot. The storyline that was as vague and bland as the colour white. In the synopsis, it mostly talks about the painting that was stolen, but that was only one of the tiny puzzle pieces that made up this book as a whole. The plot in this book did NOT just revolve around that- it was scattered all over the place, and thus it didn’t interest me too much. 

Overall, most of the characters in This Adventure Ends were very well-developed, but it was the plot that bothered me the most. Despite that, I’d definitely consider picking up more books by Emma Mills. So, if contemporary is your go-to genre, I’d recommend that you skip this one- it is one of many stories of the same type. But if you’re just diving into contemporaries for the first time, then I’m sure you’ll really enjoy this one!☺️

fullsizerender-5

2 thoughts on “This Adventure Ends Review

  1. Georgiana Darcy says:

    Good to know your opinion on this one. I was actually debating for a long time about reading this novel. Everyone loved it but to me the plot seemed a bit odd! I think at this point I made my decision 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

