Just One Day Review

fullsizerender-1

17623975.jpg

Title: Just One Day

Author: Gayle Forman

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay

Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.

A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

fullsizerender-3

For months after reading If I Stay and Where She Went, I’d been hearing about this book near and far. After reading a post somewhere on the lovely Internet about it having a Jewish character, I read the synopsis and decided that I NEEDED to read it. So, when I found it at the library, I jumped to the chance, and I AM LITERALLY SOOOOO HAPPY I DID. This book was all I needed to cure my wanderlust from being stuck inside all winter break, and for that, I am so thankful!💜

To quickly summarize, Just One Day revolves around Allyson, who is on a European tour because of her successful graduation. Upon seeing Twelfth Night in action, she discovers that she has an undeniable spark with the main actor, so when they meet again, Willem whooshes her into a day-long adventure where the two bond and make everlasting memories that will change her life and everything in it.

Allyson, being a natural rule-follower, is quite reluctant to take risks at first, much like me. Despite this, she does develop immensely and finds herself taking many risks she wouldn’t have normally taken to get what she wanted, which was Willem. I found her to be a quite likeable character as well, and I think many readers will easily be able to find something about her that they can relate to.

Willem, on the other hand, WAS SO DREAMY. He’s an actor, he’s Dutch, and he’s drop dead gorgeous. What more could I ask for in a book crush?!😍 I loved the way he swept Allyson off her feet- and even though the two of them fell in love pretty quickly, I think anyone could agree that the bond was completely undeniable.

Oh, and one more good thing- this book mostly takes place in Paris! I love all things French, so it is without a doubt my ultimate dream vacation! It was described beautifully, and I fully felt like I was there.

All in all, Just One Day was a fantastic book that shows how taking risks and leaving your comfort zone could be good, and how you really have to persevere to get the things you want. I need the sequel in my hands right now, as I am basically shredding to pieces without it!😫  I must have more Willem (and more Allyson)! So, if you are currently stuck in the dead of winter and feeling wanderlust, then this is an absolutely amazing book to pick up! You’ll like every aspect of it, just like I did!😄

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-7-44-54-pm

10 thoughts on “Just One Day Review

  1. Azia says:

    I haven’t read anything from Gayle Forman just yet, but I might just have to add this one to my TBR! I love books that feed my wanderlust, and this one sounds really romantic. Awesome review, Kayla! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

