The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hi everyone!๐Ÿ˜„

Lena @ bookfandom1001 has tagged me to take part in the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag. Thanks so much!๐Ÿ’• If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, then definitely go do so now for pure awesomeness!

Here we go!

A popular book or series that you didn’t like?

157993.jpg

I unfortunately own this book in both English and French… I read the English version, and it was so boring!๐Ÿ˜ซ

A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love

10507293.jpg

I don’t understand the fuss, guys! I loved this series, the books are all such light reads! The writing may not be amazing, but it’s the plot that had me addicted.

A love triangle where ย the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you donโ€™t like?

27209110.jpg

I don’t want to spoil you guys on this one, but Autumn did NOT end up with the guy I wanted her to end up with.๐Ÿ˜ค

A popular genre you hardly reach for?

High fantasy- it just doesn’t seem to interest me much, and some of the books I have read from the genre have left me unsatisfied. One of my bookish new year’s resolutions is to give the genre more of a try, though!

A popular or beloved character you don’t like

2767052.jpg

I didn’t love Gale. Something about him just made me apprehensive.

A popular author you can’t get into?

7074943.jpg

It’s not that I can’t get into Victoria Aveyard’sย Red Queenย series, it’s that I just don’t love it.

A popular book trope that youโ€™re tired of seeing (examples: lost princess, corrupt ruler, love triangles)

About 99% of YA contemporaries I read deal with a protagonist that has divorced or missing parent(s). I know that the authorsย are trying to get readers in those situations to be able to relate, but I think it has gone a little overboard- not EVERY SINGLE character needs to have separated parents!

A popular series that you have no interest in reading?

256683.jpg

Sorry, Cassandra Clare fans. I’m just not interested.๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The saying goes โ€œthe book is always better than the movieโ€, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

9460487.jpg

I have said this many times and will say it again- I liked the movie more than the book for this one. I just preferred seeing the action on screen rather than reading about it, is all.

I tag…

  1. Sue @ Books from Dusk till Dawn
  2. Aralyn @ Paper Addictions & Magic
  3. Abby & Erica @ You Otter Read

If you have already done this or just don’t feel like it right now, it’s completely fine with me! I’d really like to see your awesome answers, though!โ˜บ๏ธ

So tell me, have you read any of these books? Opinions? What books or authors do you have unpopular opinions about? Let me know in the comments below.

Au revoir!๐Ÿ’œ

14 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. bookfandom1001 says:

    Thanks for saying my blog is pure awesomeness I loved you’re answers they were amazing and also help me with new books to read I am planning to read the selection series I heard alot about the series I have to agree Gale for me was a friend zone character.

    I did love the movie of Miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children more than the book it was slow paced and I didn’t like Emma in the bookish I preferred her in the movie I really hope they make another movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Codie @Reader's Anonymous says:

    Oh non! Le Petit Prince was so great for me.โ€ฆI might’ve forced myself to like it a bit, though haha. It’s a shame it was a dud for you. I agree with you about Gale – something extremely off with his character – not saying Ted Bundy or anything, but yeah. Also have to agree with The Mortal Instruments – it just doesn’t sound all that great. I’ve tried – and failed – to read City of Bones on multiple occasions.

    If I were to pick a series it’d be Castor Chronicles – I HATE that series with an extreme passion. Cool tag!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. NeverSeenANevergreen says:

    You are so right about the divorces/missing/absent/drunk parents in YA. It’s not even a contemporary thing. Sure, it’s nice to see people in books that are just as messed up/have messed up lives like most of the rest of us, but I think it’s also so important to see healthy parental relationships! And the fact that it is hard and/or strange to see that in YA is very sad.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

