ARC Review: White Jade Tiger

About the book:

30214226.jpg

Title: White Jade Tiger

Author: Julie Lawson

Genre & Age Group: Historical fiction, sci-fi, middle grade

Goodreads Synopsis:

1994 Sheila A. Egoff Children s Literature Prize Winner
1995 Silver Birch Award Shortlisted
1994 CLA Book of the Year Award Runner-up

On a trip to Chinatown, thirteen-year-old Jasmine steps through a doorway back in time and finds herself in the 1880s.
Jasmine is not sure she likes the idea of being stuck in Victoria while her father goes to China. But on a field trip to Chinatown, she changes her mind. Passing through a doorway in Fan Tan Alley, she mysteriously finds herself in the early 1880s. Adventure begins with a new friend, a journey to the Fraser Canyon during the building of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and a search for an ancient amulet. But Jasmine is not the only one searching for the white jade tiger “

Source: Thanks so much to Dundurn for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

I was surfing Netgalley for something cool to read, and White Jade Tiger caught my eye. I really enjoy reading books about time-travel, as I like to see how life was/may be like in different eras. I feel like this book hit the nail on the head in that area!

For a synopsis, this book revolves around 13-year-old Jasmine. Her father is about to travel to China, but she is to be left at home in Victoria with other relatives. However, when she goes on a school field trip to Chinatown, she enters a doorway, and unexpectedly steps right into the 1880s, and with a new buddy, she embarks on a quest for an amulet and, hence the title, a white jade tiger.

I really liked Jasmine and her love for adventure. She was always very determined to get what she wanted, and it really showed in her persistence to go with her dad to China, as well as how determined she was to solve both quests posed to her. A lot of trouble came her way during her journey, but she was able to keep a smile on her face and kept on going, which I totally admire.

I thought the concept of this story was super awesome, what with the time-travelling and the quests. I haven’t read too much about the 1880s; but after reading this story, I have now been inspired to read and learn more about the history of China and Canada during those times.

All in all, this book was quite interesting, but that’s not to say that I didn’t get bored at times, as I felt that the beginning and middle of this book was really slow. Anyway, I’d recommend this one to tweens and teens looking for a cool story about time-travelling back to the 1880s, a mesmerizing adventure, and a brave protagonist, because I know you’ll adore this read!😊

Rating: 3.25/5 Stars

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: White Jade Tiger

  1. Sarah says:

    Ooh, I saw this book on Netgalley too but passed it over because my TBR pile is a little on the large side. I’m glad you enjoyed though, even though parts were a little slow. I might even pick this one up myself. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

