All the Bright Places Review

About the book:

18460392.jpg

Title: All the Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

All the Bright Places had been on my radar for quite a while. Before I read Jennifer Niven’s newest book, Holding Up the UniverseI’d been pretty intimidated about this book- it just seemed to be a bit too depressing for my tastes. But when I found it on the library shelf one day, I couldn’t help picking it up and savouring Jennifer Niven’s writing once more.

For a brief summary, this book revolves around the dual POVs of Violet and Theodore (aka Finch). Theodore has an obsession with all things surrounding death, and he’s attempted to kill himself before- but is never successful. Violet recently lost her sister in an accident, and losing love of life with her. She just wants a new life away from the town she’d grown up in. When Theodore and Violet find each other, they bond right away. With his help, Violet starts to heal, but Theodore takes a turn for the worse…

I did like the characters of this story, but I found that they weren’t the most memorable. I mean, of course I felt bad for them, but at the same time, I found myself having a bit of a hard time relating to them. To me, Violet pulled through her grief quite well, but Theodore… well, let’s just say that he was a whole different story. He may have helped to develop Violet, but he did the complete opposite for himself. I actually found that to be quite interesting, as I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before in a YA book! What is usually the case is that both characters develop immensely, but I really appreciate how selfless Theodore was in wanting to help Violet over himself. But the truth is… I think he needed the help more than she did.😁

That ending! I saw it coming, but I wasn’t expecting it to happen that way. As much as I’d love to tell you guys all about it, I’d better keep my mouth shut, as I don’t want to give anything away and keep you guys from reading this book! *tries to zip lips*

Overall, I could totally see all the bright places things about this book, but there were definitely dark spots, too. For Jennifer Niven’s YA debut, though, I’ll take it. In fact, she did improve quite a bit with Holding Up the Universe. Anyway, those looking for a story with fabulous writing and a good romance shouldn’t miss All the Bright Places!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

11 thoughts on “All the Bright Places Review

  1. Nika says:

    I just read this book and I didn’t like it as much as I thought I will. I think that topics were ok and people should read that kind of books, but everything else was just horrible. Like… nobody saw what Theodore was going through, nobody cared.
    And I think it was odd, that he put so much effort at the end, leaving signs through all country and still made suicide. I still think that usually, people don’t act like that. I don’t know… I was just disappointed at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jasmine says:

    I think I rated this book similar as you. It’s a bit depressing to read but I do like the places they visited. Too bad that most places were visited separately instead of together. I like your review and yes the ending, I didn’t think it will actually happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

