Top Ten Thursday #30

Hi everyone!☺️

I’m so sorry for the lack of a Top Ten Thursday post last week. I had an ARC review that needed to go up, and I didn’t want to duplicate posts! Anyway, I am back this week with the topic of the longest books I’ve ever read. This post will be in reverse order☺️

So let’s get started!✌️

10.

11071466.jpg

Length: 468 pages

Morgan Matson’s Second Chance Summer gave me every single feel you could name– but I think that is to be expected, because it’s so long! Despite its length, I enjoyed every word of this story.

9.

23870836.jpg

Length: 480 pages

I gave Infinite in Between a solid 3.5 star rating. The storyline was good, but it had 5 POVs, which sometimes baffled me, and to be honest, I didn’t really care for 3/5 of them. That was the point of the story, though, but I’m just saying that if lengthy books like this one with lots of perspectives haunt you, then this may not be for you.

8.

13335037.jpg

Length: 487 pages

…It was so good, and I whipped it up in under 24 hours😂.

7.

17838528.jpg

Length: 519 pages

The Unexpected Everything sits as my third favourite Morgan Matson book. Since I absolutely loved her three previous works, this book was basically The Expected Everything!😂

6.

11735983.jpg

Length: 525 pages

Insurgent was a good sequel to Divergent, but I found that Divergent was still way better, as I got to learn more of a backstory about the factors and see Tris get trained, which was awesome! This book sort of lacked that, but then again, I find that many other second books lack charm, too.

5.

17383918.jpg

Length: 526 pages

Okay, I have to admit, I was spoiled for Allegiant before I even read it, but I still wanted to pick it up to see how it happened. Despite what some others thought, I believe that it ended well– everything was executed amazingly!

4.

13206828.jpg

Length: 560 pages

Cress was the awesome, though long, third book of The Lunar Chronicles… but I have to gear up for the 800+ page monster that Winter is (I haven’t even read a 600-page book!🙊).

3.

2536134.jpg

Length: 560 pages

Noticing a trend here?😏 Too many books have 560 pages, that’s for sure! Anyway, Gone by Michael Grant was one I read for school. It was just OK, I guess😕 .

2.

428036.jpg

Length: 560 pages

Alas, another book I had to read for school! I obviously don’t pick up enough tomes on my own, that’s for sure! Anyway, this one was just not for me- my teacher assigned it not knowing that it was the second book in a trilogy, and it wasn’t my preferred type of genre.

1.

5047880.jpg

Length: 590 pages

Last but not least, Hunger, the sequel to Gone by Michael Grant, is 590 pages… and I read it in under 12 hours- I barely let myself put it down! I’m not saying it was amazing; I just wanted to get through it as fast as I could.

So there we have it, the 10 longest books I’ve ever read. I get goosebumps looking at some of these lengths… but in 2017, I am hoping to get to reading more tomes, despite how intimidating they may seem. I don’t know if I’m going to follow through, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed!😉

Annie_fingers_crossed.gif

(Gif from Google, I give credit to the creator)

So tell me, have you read any of these books? Opinions? How long do you usually like your reads? Do long books intimidate you? What is the longest book you’ve ever read? Let me know in the comments below.

Au revoir!💜

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday #30

  1. blackcatkai says:

    Finally! Another person who actually felt fine about the Allegiant ending! I felt it so fitting to the characters & overall plot. Yes, not a happy thing, but it felt totally right to me.

    I feel so happy right meow, thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I was okay with how Allegiant ended too!! I mean obviously I was heartbroken and I cried so much, haha, but it felt really fitting and I think it made a lot of sense. I think the longest book I’ve read has been Order of the Phoenix. I tend to stay away from books with a huge page count 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicola Alter says:

    I just bought Cress – haven’t read it yet but am looking forward to it! And re. Winter, I had the same reaction when I saw the page count! I already thought Cress looked long and my jaw kind of dropped when I saw Winter’s page count.

    I have actually read longer books though – ‘Kushiel’s Dart’ was 912 pages (some editions of it are over 1000) and it took ages to read… at that length I guess you kind of have to think of it as trilogy in one book.

    Come to think of it, The Order of the Phoenix is 800+ pages, but I didn’t even notice at the time because I was just so excited to get my hands on the next HP book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

