ARC Review: Waiting for Dusk

About the book:

16577056.jpg

Title: Waiting for Dusk

Author: Nancy Pennick

Genre & Age Group: Historical fiction, sci-fi, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Read a book.
Fall asleep.
Meet a boy.
Is it real or just a dream?
Katie’s everyday life suddenly turns exciting when she travels back in time and meets the boy of her dreams. Thinking of nothing else, willing to leave the real world behind, she’s determined to find out if it’s all a dream or not. Returning again and again, Katie almost has her answers until one day her precious book goes missing.

Source: Thanks so much to Melange Press, LLC & Xpresso Book Tours for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

The cover of Waiting for Dusk drew me right in with its beautiful sunset (can’t go wrong with that!😉 ), so I just HAD to see what it was about. Good news- the synopsis mentioned a girl who loves BOOKS. Double check for a supposedly great book!

In spite of how excited I was to read this, I feel like this was a bit of a let down. This book was just not the most captivating thing I’ve ever read, even though there were still some aspects of it that I really loved.

For a quick summary, Waiting for Dusk revolves around Katie, who is an avid reader. Whenever she reads a book, especially one of the historical fiction novels she owns, she tends to dream about it, and in those dreams she meets a special boy whom she falls in love with. Suddenly, Katie finds herself stuck between both worlds… is it all a dream as she thinks it is, or is it actually reality? And will she lose it all once she loses her book?

The concept of this story reminded me a lot of Dreamology by Lucy Keating, a personal favourite of mine. The two storylines of a girl meeting a boy in her dreams are quite similar, though I do have to admit that this book wasn’t as fluffy and contemporary as Dreamology was. Instead, it had a deep mystery to be solved as well as some history to look back upon, which I really liked.

The characters of this book were okay- the only one who remotely stood out to me was Katie, the main character. (Is it just me, or have the books I’ve been reading lately mostly have really bland characters?) I definitely liked Katie’s love of books and how inquisitive she was about finding out whether everything was a dream or just a parallel life, and I probably would’ve been a lot like her as well if I was in her shoes. So, I guess she was a nice character, but truthfully, everybody else in the story was just 2D and forgettable.

As I said before, the plot wasn’t the most mesmerizing, and I found myself wanting to snooze during the historical parts. I completely understand how this part of the book could be awesome for someone who loves books about time-travelling, but to be honest, it just did not capture my fancy.

Overall, Waiting for Dusk was an okay read, and I wish I could’ve gotten to see more of the romance rather than the historical stuff. Nevertheless, I’d recommend this to avid readers of historical fiction or time-travel, because I know this book will do wonders for you, especially with its bookworm of a protagonist!😄

Rating: 3/5 Stars

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Leave a Reply

