Nimona Review

About the book:

19351043.jpg

Title: Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Genre & Age Group: Fantasy, graphic novel, action, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

Review:

Going into Nimona, I had no idea what to expect, especially since I was entering it blind. I knew it was a graphic novel, but from all the reviews I’ve seen, you either loved or hated the book. Because I didn’t really know if it would be something that would tickle my fancy, I ended up feeling really neutral about it, thus giving it only 3 stars.

To summarize, this graphic novel is about an evil shapeshifter named Nimona. Together with her sidekick Lord Blackheart, the two decide to do some destruction to their kingdom in order to show everyone that the so-called ‘heroes’ at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics are actually villains. As the fighting increases, it turns out that Nimona is mysteriously capable of much more than she thought she was…

First, I think I should state that graphic novels are pretty much hit-or-miss for me. I have always preferred novels full of written words over books with mostly pictures; I don’t know, it’s just always how I’ve learned. The graphics are usually helpful to me at times, but oftentimes I find myself skipping the pictures without dialogue and pretty much only reading what the characters say, rather than looking to see what they do.

I did really like the images in this one, though, but I felt like some of them were pretty much useless, and didn’t add very much to the story. Despite that, they showed the emotions and atmosphere of the characters and the setting very well,so that’s a start!

The characters in this book were okay, I guess. They weren’t necessarily ‘forgettable,’ per se, but they were still a lot like many other characters in books of this kind, graphic novel or not. I did really like Nimona, though, as I feel like she developed a lot throughout the story, and that even though she may have been evil, she wasn’t afraid to take risks and be herself, no matter if she was a villain. Nimona had the bravery that many characters in YA seemingly lack, and I suggest that others follow her lead not for her evil acts, but for her courage.

I don’t really have much to say about Lord Blackheart except for the fact that I liked him. He was a pretty good sidekick to Nimona, as unlike her, he was pretty cautious, and always strived to stop her from doing things she’d regret in the future. I feel like Nimona was really able to bring him out of his shell, and that Lord Blackheart was able to limit Nimona’s extreme risk-taking down to just risks that would only benefit herself and others. As people always say, opposites attract, especially in this book with these two sidekicks!

All in all, I can honestly see why people can both love and hate Nimona, and after reading it, I think I’m smack dab in the middle of that spectrum. For readers looking for a graphic novel with okay characters and LOTS of action,Nimona is your best pick, and I know you won’t regret picking it up!

Rating: 3/5 Stars

7 thoughts on “Nimona Review

  1. Emily | RoseRead says:

    Great review! I haven’t read it yet, but I expect I’ll love it. I know what you mean about reading graphic novels and skipping the pictures; every time I read one, I need to adjust my reading style to make sure I’m “doing it right.” It took some time, but now I love graphic novels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

