Highly Illogical Behaviour Review

About the book:

26109391.jpg

Title: Highly Illogical Behaviour

Author: John Corey Whaley

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Blogging

Review:

I’d seen quite a few bloggers rave about this book, so I decided that it wouldn’t hurt to check it out. After all, I love reading about mental health; it’s just always interested me. And low and behold, Highly Illogical Behaviour was great!

To sum up, this story revolves around the POVs of Solomon, who has agoraphobia, preventing him from leaving home due to anxiety, and new friend Lisa. When Lisa finds out about him, she decides to drop everything and help him out, help him gain some  confidence in order to ditch some of the anxiety. Then, enter Clark, her boyfriend, who immediately joins into the mix. Will the new-found trio be beneficial to Solomon, or will it just worsen his anxiety?

I have mixed feelings about the characters of this book; some of them I really liked, some of them I was ‘meh’ about, simply because they were just not memorable. I’d like to start with Solomon, who I have to say developed more than your average character by the end of this book. As I said before, he was agoraphobic, so he was too scared to leave his house, but I believe that Lisa helped him out really well with that. In reason of spoilers, though, I’m going to stop right there for now (and I’m scared I said too much😂).

I honestly loved Lisa. She would probably have to be my favourite character in this book, without a doubt. Many people wouldn’t go so far as to personally help out someone who is struggling with a mental illness; they would just refer them to a doctor or therapist and done. That wasn’t the case in this book, though, and I really admire that. Lisa also had a great spirit, and I would love to be her friend, if you were to ask me❤️.

All the other characters in this book, though, I can barely remember anything about them; not even Clark. I think the author could have done more to make him stand out from the crowd, if you get what I mean.😉

Overall, I think mental health was very well portrayed in this story, and I really look forward to reading some of Whaley’s other books. If you are a fan of books centring around mental health with great protagonists (but don’t mind some forgettable supporting characters), then I’m sure you’ll adore and devour Highly Illogical Behaviour!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

7 thoughts on “Highly Illogical Behaviour Review

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Nice review! I’ve seen this book everywhere and this is the first review I’ve read. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I also like when mental health is portrayed correctly in a book. I often find the authors rely to much on romance to “cure” them, and I think that’s the wrong approach. I definitely want to read this after reading your review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly says:

    Fabulous review! I bought this book a while ago when it first came out (and it’s another one that I have yet to read because I keep forgetting about it), but it has such an interesting premise and it sounds so good. I’m curious as to how they portrayed the main character’s agoraphobia, honestly. Thanks for reminding me about this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

