Paper Towns Review

About the book:

6442769.jpg

Title: Paper Towns

Author: John Green

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, mystery, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Who is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

I thought Paper Towns was awesome! This was my third read of John Green’s, and it was quite a bit better than An Abundance of Katherines, but again, I didn’t like it as much as the mighty Looking for Alaska- seriously, it is so hard to find better books than that one.

To sum up, this book centres around Quentin “Q” Jacobsen, who has had a crush on a girl named Margo forever, but has never really gotten the right chance to get to know her. When she mysteriously takes him out on a special all-nighter, Q is super happy, but not too long afterwards, she disappears. POOF! But he is still determined to find her- and will do anything it takes.

The characters in this book were amazingly developed, and I had a really good time reading about them. Let’s start off with talking about our protagonist, Quentin (aka Q). I have to tell you that he went through a lot of growth and development throughout the story, and I think anyone who reads it will be able to agree with me as well. Even though he really liked Margo, he seemed to feel a little bit intimidated by how outgoing and adventurous she was, compared to his laid-back, reserved personality. I think that night with Margo allowed him to break a bit more out of his shell, and become much more fond of having fun. I also adored his determination to find Margo when she went missing- only a super loyal friend would have the guts to go through all that trouble! Anyway, I guess you could say I adored Q😊.

I adored Margo as well, but boy, she did have her flaws. I loved how adventurous she was; you don’t see that a lot in the female characters of YA, but at the same time, she was quite mysterious and didn’t seem to be able to deal with too many things- which partly explains the fact of why she randomly escaped. Personally, I actually really liked that she had flaws. It just made her all the more realistic, as most characters I read about seem to have the ultimate perfect lives as well as perfect personalities.

The plot of Paper Towns was pretty captivating; I found myself completely hooked! After reading about 75%, I could barely put the book down, which says a lot☺️.

All in all, John Green yet again did not fail to impress me with his books, and I look forward to getting my hands on everything else of his (ahem, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS🙊). I’d recommend this awesome story to any teen wanting a riveting mystery & adventure, fabulous writing, and well-developed characters, because I’m sure you’ll devour Paper Towns!❤️

Rating: 4.25/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “Paper Towns Review

Leave a Reply

