The Princess Diaries Review

About the book:

38980.jpg

Title: The Princess Diaries

Author: Meg Cabot

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

She’s just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…

NEWS FLASH: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that’s why a limo meets her at the airport!)

DOWNER: Dad can’t have any more kids. (So there’s no heir to the throne.)

SHOCK OF THE CENTURY: Like it or not, Mia Thermopolis is prime princess material.

THE WORST PART: Mia must take princess lessons from her dreaded grandmère, the dowager princess of Genovia, who thinks Mia has a thing or two to learn before she steps up to the throne.

Well, her father can lecture her until he’s royal–blue in the face about her princessly duty—no way is she moving to Genovia and leaving Manhattan behind.

But what’s a girl to do when her name is PRINCESS AMELIA MIGNONETTE GRIMALDI THERMOPOLIS RENALDO?

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

Right off the bat I knew that The Princess Diaries would be an adorable book, and boy, was I right! I loved almost every aspect of it; from the characters to the writing style. This is one of very few books that was actually able to make me laugh out loud, and for that I am so happy!😊

This book basically revolves around high schooler Mia, a seemingly normal New York City girl. When she finds out that her absent father is really the prince of Genovia, her world is turned upside down, as she becomes the heir of his throne. But she isn’t really up to leaving her beloved home city- will she have to do so, or sacrifice her royalty?

Despite the fact that she whined quite a bit at times, I found Mia to be adorable. She seemed to always know exactly what she wanted, and 100% strived to get it, which totally shows in her persistence to stay in New York. Throughout the story, I do think she grew and developed, but I’m going to pause right here, because I really don’t want to spoil the book for you guys and keep you from wanting to read this adorable story. All I want to say is that I definitely related to Mia and her personality, and would absolutely want her as a friend!

I also thought that Mia’s process of becoming a princess was awesome, and it made me wonder how I would train to be a princess, if ever given the chance.

When I read How to be Popular, also by Meg Cabot, I quickly found out how awesome her writing style is, and once again, my second book of hers hit the jackpot! Her writing flows super nicely, and she just has her own special way of making books humorous yet dedicated to the main topic at the same time, if you get what I mean😉. In a nutshell, what I’m trying to say is that I definitely look forward to picking up the rest of this series, as well as other books by her!❤️

Overall, I really enjoyed this story; it was super light and fluffy, and it has the potential to make anyone’s day brighter. It’s also quite short, as well, weighing in at around 220-240 pages. I’d recommend it to anyone looking for an adorable read with only a tiny speck of romance, a great protagonist, and pretty much just anything fluffy, because I know that once you pick this one up, you will adore it!

Rating: 4.25/5 Stars

5 thoughts on “The Princess Diaries Review

Leave a Reply

