Looking for Alaska Review

About the book:

99561.jpg

Title: Looking for Alaska

Author: John Green

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

Source: Read for school

How I Found Out About It: Um… I think everyone knows about this book…😂

Review:

Looking for Alaska was my first foray into John Green’s work (nope, I haven’t read The Fault in Our Stars yet, oops🙊), and I have to say that I was honestly enthralled. I know that Green will be an author whose books I dive into quite often, now that I devoured this one.

I had to read this book for school, and to be honest, my teacher couldn’t have picked anything better. Looking for Alaska had so many amazing themes and morals, and I think this book is quite the life-changer, if I do say so myself!

For a synopsis, this book is about Miles, aka ‘Pudge’, who is pretty much a wallflower, and for the most part, he’s fine with it. He has an adoration for people’s last words, and one of his favourites is, “I go to seek a Great Perhaps,” said by Francois Rabelais. So, Miles decides that he wants to find his own ‘Great Perhaps,’ and enrolls in Culver Creek Boarding School. There, he meets new friends Chip, who becomes a lifelong ally, and the ultra mysterious Alaska, who quickly becomes a major new love interest- that is, until something big happens, and Miles finds his world changed in an instant.

LOVE LOVE LOVED every single character in this beautiful story, from Miles to the Eagle, Culver Creek’s principal. For this review, though, I will only really be talking about the main three- Miles, Chip, and Alaska.

Okay. Miles. He was my favourite character in this story, without a doubt. He starts at Culver Creek as a shy, unsure guy with too much time on his hands, and still a lot to learn about the rules of life. In my opinion, he basically takes tiny, baby steps to become the person he wants to be, becoming rebellious from reserved, outgoing from shy, and it goes on and on and on. The school and everyone in it changes him for sure, as the amount of character development in this story is extravagant!

Next in line to be talked about is our friend Chip, aka ‘The Colonel.’ I LOVED him as well! Throughout the entire story, he was super loyal to everyone, despite the troubles he’d been facing at home with divorced parents. Maybe a little too loyal at times, but that’s okay, because I believe that it’s better to be way too loyal than to show none whatsoever. He too goes through a lot of development in the story, but for sure not nearly as much as Miles does.

Lastly, I want to discuss Alaska. While reading the book, her character really got me thinking, as she was very unique and unlike most other book characters. She often kept to herself and didn’t like to open up to others, unless she felt that it was absolutely necessary. We find out some puzzle pieces as to why she is this way much later in the book, but in reason of spoilers, I will stop right there for now. Alaska is a character so mysterious that I’m prompting you to go pick up this amazing book this very instant if you’d like to know more about her.

I thought the ending of this story was great, and that things were wrapped up super well. There was still a hanging question to be answered, but I think John Green wanted us to infer the answer for ourselves, using our knowledge about the characters in the book.

Overall, I’d have to say that this is one of the awesomest books I’ve ever gotten my hands on, and I wouldn’t often say this, but I think it deserves a re-read. The characters were spectacular. The writing was beautiful. The plot was ongoing. The morals taught were undeniable. What more could you want from a book? Basically, I don’t even have a set group of readers this book would appeal to, because I think absolutely anyone could get a kick out of this astonishing novel!❤️

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

12 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska Review

  1. Kelly says:

    I read this book a long time ago before I even started reviewing and blogging…and I loved it then! I’m do for a re-read of it…or maybe one of his other books, which I own all of and haven’t read yet (yeah, you aren’t alone in not reading The Fault in Our Stars, haha). I’m really glad you enjoyed this – it’s such a powerful book! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

