ARC Review: Doubles Love

About the book:

31674087.jpg

Title: Doubles Love

Author: Ali Dean

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Mackenzie Bell loves two things: tennis and the Kendrick family. She doesn’t want to be anything like her mother, who hops from one husband to the next. It’s one of many reasons why she’s never dated. The other reason? She’s in love with her best friend’s older brother, Jesse Kendrick.
Source: Thanks so much to Mark My Words Book Publicity for providing me with an e-ARC of this book via Netgalley!
How I Found Out About It: Netgalley
Review:
When I requested Doubles Love on Netgalley, the adorable cover caught my eye, as did the synopsis.
I have to say, though, that unfortunately the inside didn’t completely live up to what was on the outside of the book.
For a quick summary, this book is about high schooler Mackenzie, who thinks of her best friend’s family as her own. She’s never dated before, as her mother has had too many husbands to count, and she currently has a crush on her best friend’s brother, Jesse, and doesn’t want to ruin their friendship. As the two get to know each other, will enough sparks fly for Mackenzie to finally call someone her own?
So, yeah, this book just fell flat for me. I’m going to be completely honest and straight-forward here, but I don’t intend to hurt anyone’s feelings. In fact, that’s the last thing I want.
Okay, so here goes: The plot was non-existent, the characters were bland, and it was just way too short for me (68 pages?!) to really feel anything from it.
Jesse and Mackenzie barely even got to know each other; Mackenzie just went up to him and kissed him at a party, and then a second later, POOF! They were dating. I personally think that’s quite unrealistic, and that the author could’ve added some more sparks between the two, as I honestly did not feel any whatsoever.
The only thing about this book that really captured my attention was the writing style. I felt like the words flowed so nicely, and I would definitely consider reading more from Ali Dean. I’m sure that reading a full-length novel written by her will be great!
Even though this book didn’t really do it for me, I think it will do wonders for others. If you don’t normally read young adult contemporary or just want a SUPER quick, light read, then by all means, try it! You may fall in love. But if you are one to devour contemporaries, then you may want to skip this one.
Rating: 2.5/5 Stars
*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*
3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Doubles Love

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    68 pages? Wth can happen in 68 pages??
    Way too short. I hate books (or “novellas”) that are less than 200 pages…I mean, what can happen? It makes me think of middle school chapter books…I think even those were almost 100 pages. Ugh. Sorry ‘Bout the major letdown!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

