The Mother-Daughter Book Club Review

About the book:

318016.jpg

Title: The Mother-Daughter Book Club

Author: Heather Vogel Frederick

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, realistic fiction, middle grade

Goodreads Synopsis:

The book club

is about to get

a makeover….

Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma’s already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-imposed ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school. From stolen journals, to secret crushes, to a fashion-fiasco first dance, the girls are up to their Wellie boots in drama. They can’t help but wonder: What would Jo March do?

Acclaimed author Heather Vogel Frederick will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Library recommendation algorithm

Review:

When I was just getting back into reading again, I came across this series on my library’s website. Intrigued, I picked up the one book that was available at that specific branch… which happened to be the third. Oops!🙊 Nevertheless, I honestly wasn’t confused at all, and I really enjoyed it.

Anyway, I decided that I wanted to pick up the first book, and start the series how I should’ve done before. With that being said, I don’t regret my decision, as this book was pretty good!

To sum up, The Mother-Daughter Book Club follows the POVs of four middle school girls; Emma, who adores reading, Cassidy, an eager hockey player, Jess, who is very shy and really misses her mom, and Megan, a wannabe fashion designer. Though the four girls don’t have too much in common, they are brought together by their moms, who decide to start a book club. This idea gives the girls mixed feelings, but they soon come to realize that after reading their chosen book, Little Women, they are able to see and act on their middle school fiascos in the shoes of main character Jo March.

I liked most of the characters, but I could relate to some of them more than others. First, I want to talk about Emma, who was personally the most like me, and my favourite out of all of the girls. She is quite the bookworm, and she was pretty much the only girl who was on board with the book club idea (what book lover wouldn’t be?!). I thought she was really nice and agreeable, and I really liked the bonds she made with the other girls in the group.

Next, let’s talk about Cassidy. I found her to be a little bit rude, and I sometimes got bored when it was her POV. She seemed to have a negative attitude towards almost everything, and from time to time, tended to say things that weren’t too nice, especially as a joke. I do think the book club would be beneficial for her to change some of those ways, though, as deep down, she is probably an amazing character. I think she just needs a way to be able to bring that niceness out!😊

Now Megan is up, and to be honest, she’s probably the POV I cared the least for. She was uninteresting, and quite unmemorable, if I do say so myself. Hence this, I don’t have too much to say about her, other than the fact that I really loved her passion for fashion!👠💄

Lastly, I would like to discuss Jess. She was my second-favourite POV, as she was super nice and fun to be around, despite missing her mom so much. My heart broke for her, I felt so bad!💔

In this story, the book club reads and discusses Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Although I have not read the book myself, I didn’t really find myself confused during these parts, and I trust that others won’t, either. But, still, if you’d like to know exactly what is going on in the book club at any time, then maybe it would be a good idea for you to pick up Little Women first. Remember, different strokes for different folks!😉

All in all, this was a cute story which tackles many issues girls may face in middle school, and more. I’d recommend it to any middle schooler looking for a book about books with super relatable characters, because this book is a perfect example of those things! Read it, and you’ll be inspired to create a mother-daughter book club of your own.😊

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

 

4 thoughts on “The Mother-Daughter Book Club Review

Leave a Reply

