Every Exquisite Thing Review

About the book:

26245098.jpg

Title: Every Exquisite Thing

Author: Matthew Quick

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Didn’t you ever just simply want to…stop?

Star athlete and straight-A student Nanette O’Hare has played the role of dutiful daughter for as long as she can remember. But one day, a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper—a mysterious, out-of-print cult classic—and the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As the new and outspoken Nanette attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, she befriends the reclusive author and falls in love with a young, troubled poet. Forced to make some hard choices that bring devastating consequences, Nanette learns the hard way that rebellion can sometimes come at a high price.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads/Blogging

Review:

Every Exquisite Thing was quite a thought-provoking, coming-of-age book, which was everything I was expecting and more! I really think it deserves way more attention than it’s currently getting.

For a summary, this book centres around high school student Nanette, who, at first glimpse, seems like a typical ‘good girl,’ that is, until she receives a book from her teacher, entitled The Bubblegum Reaper. After reading it multiple times, the book completely changes her perspective of life, and nothing is ever the same. Nanette becomes friends with the author to find out the answers to the mysteries laid out in the book and through him meets Alex, a poet and fellow fan of the story. But her life can only change too much- as she ends up having to make some fierce decisions that will make her question the meaning of life, and that changing who you are comes with its own cons.

I really liked the characters of this book. They were very three-dimensional, and they all had a lot of personality. All of them were amazing in their own way, but they all had flaws, as well, which I felt was great.

First, I want to talk about Nanette. Nanette, oh, Nanette. She seemed like such a good, perfect girl at the beginning of the story, but as the book progressed, we got to see a whole new side of her. She turned out to become capable of so many things I wouldn’t necessarily imagine of such an introverted, soft-spoken girl. I found that both sides of her were very loyal and kind, though, so I know that trait never changed. But she did gain some rebellious ways, and she was able to break out of her shell a bit, as well as learn to speak up for what she wants, such as quitting soccer. I absolutely admire these changes in Nanette! She was already a very good person before, but I think that these changes made her an even better one.

Next, it’s time to discuss Booker, the author of The Bubblegum Reaper. I felt pretty sorry for him when the book started, because he usually just sat around at home with no one to talk to, pining over a book that he regretted writing. He seemed to have some trouble opening up to Nanette, but I get it, I totally do. From what he talks about in the story, he seems to have had a troublesome past, so I totally get him not wanting to tell today’s millennials about it. In spite of that, I absolutely adored him, and his wise soul. I felt like he was an amazing role model for Nanette, and that he was able to support her very well as she went through her changes. Booker is the type of person that is a friend for life, and I think almost anyone else who’s read the book would agree with me.😊

Lastly, I’d like to talk about Alex, the boy whom Booker set up with Nanette. Let’s just say, he did have his flaws. Again, though, he seemed to have quite a troubled past, so he had some problems trusting others. I really admired some of the decisions he made, even though he risked a lot to make them. I’m just going to stop there for now, because if I say anymore, that would spoil things for you, and I definitely don’t want to stop you guys from reading this amazing book! One thing I didn’t love, though, was the relationship between him and Nanette. For some reason, I just didn’t feel it. To me, it only felt fake and forced.

I absolutely ADORED the writing style of this book. Matthew Quick has a way of making words flow very nicely together, and I believe I was able to visualize and grasp every scene really well. I really hope to pick up more of his writing beautifulness!

Overall, this book was extraordinary, and I’m so glad I read it. It’s honestly a gem of a book. Any teen looking for a book about books, beautiful writing, and amazingly developed characters needs to pick up Every Exquisite Thing, because this book had every exquisite thing I was looking for!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

6 thoughts on “Every Exquisite Thing Review

  1. Kelly says:

    This is such a great read! I really hadn’t expected it to be the way it was…it was so surprising and beautiful. The only part I disliked a little was when Nanette changed her style of speaking to refer to herself in the third person. It fit in well with the book, but I just couldn’t get into that whole section because of it.

    So glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TeacherofYA says:

    I hate when a relationship feels forced in a book. That happened to me with Spindle: the guy she couldn’t get far enough away from goes on a trip and then she loves him? I hate that shit.
    Glad you liked the book despite it, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

