ARC Review: How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You

About the book:

29772846.jpg

Title: How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You

Author: Tara Eglington

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sweet sixteen and never been kissed—and that’s the way Aurora Skye wants it to be. She’s too busy finding guys for her two best friends, counseling her sensitive New Age dad (the NAD), and dealing with the unexpected return of her long-absent mom.

But always in the background there’s Hayden Paris, the boy next door, the bane of Aurora’s existence. Smart, funny, and always around to see her at her worst, he ‘gets’ her like no-one else… and that’s what makes him so infuriating.

When Aurora and Hayden are coerced into the lead roles in the school production of Much Ado About Nothing, things can only get worse. How is Aurora going to save her first kiss for the secret admirer who wooed her with poetry and a spectacular bunch of flowers on Valentine’s Day if she doesn’t know who he is and she’s obligated to lock lips with Hayden in the play’s final dramatic clinch?

From talented debut YA author Tara Eglington, How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You is a page-turning, funny and delicious romp of a book.

Source: Thanks so much to St. Martin’s Press for providing me with an e-ARC via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

I found this to be such a cute, light-hearted contemporary romance story! Even though I hadn’t heard anything about the book when I stumbled across it on Netgalley, I presumed that it would check all the boxes for a good read, and it totally did!

Basically, this book revolves around a 16-year old girl named Aurora. She hasn’t had her first kiss yet, and she wants to make sure to save it for someone super special. When she is cast as the female lead in a play, with the male lead as her nemesis Hayden, she may have to sacrifice that first kiss for someone whom she doesn’t necessarily enjoy. She then gets a bouquet of roses for Valentine’s Day, which are from a secret admirer. Will she find out the secret admirer’s identity (and kiss him) before having to kiss Hayden in the production?

Aurora was a pretty great character, though in my opinion not the most memorable. She was quirky (in a good way) and was very determined to make her first kiss be super special, and not be forced or dared upon. I thought that she was pretty clever to play around with the tactics to get herself out of Hayden’s kiss! I also thought that it was wise for her to save her first kiss for someone extra deserving of it, and not wanting to give it to someone who torments her. It’s a once in a lifetime experience, so why make it happen with someone who you don’t like? It seems like many teenagers these days just want to get a first kiss over with, so they take any opportunity they possibly can to mark it off their bucket list. I would personally be like Aurora and wait until the time is right, especially now after reading this book.

I don’t have many comments on Hayden’s character, except to say that he was cool, witty, and anything and everything like that. I just wish that I’d known more about his history with Aurora, so I could see why she held so many grudges against him.

The secret admirer, not to spoil anything, seemed to me like it was pretty obvious. I could tell from the get-go that this person had a thing for Aurora. Though predictable, I still thought it was pretty fun to read about Aurora and her friends’ hilarious journey to find him!

Overall, I found this to be a pretty light-hearted, sweet book about first love and finding yourself and your passions. I’d recommend it to any teen looking for a romance novel that can give them a good laugh, because this is the one! I was able to find myself smiling, chuckling, and cheering the characters on at any time throughout the book, and I know you will, too, once it releases in North America on October 25th!

Rating: 4/5 Stars!

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: How To Keep A Boy From Kissing You

Leave a Reply

