The Future of Us Review

About the book:

10959277.jpg

Title: The Future of Us

Author: Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, historical fiction, romance, magical realism, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

It’s 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbors their whole lives. They’ve been best friends almost as longโ€”at least, up until last November, when Josh did something that changed everything. Things have been weird between them ever since, but when Josh’s family gets a free AOL CD in the mail, his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they’re automatically logged onto their Facebook pages. But Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. And they’re looking at themselves fifteen years in the future.

By refreshing their pages, they learn that making different decisions now will affect the outcome of their lives later. And as they grapple with the ups and downs of what their futures hold, they’re forced to confront what they’re doing rightโ€”and wrongโ€”in the present.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: My local library’s teen website

Review:

The Future of Usย was an amazing, coming-of-age book which I really think more readers should look into. I seriously couldn’t put it down. The characters were awesome. The plot was captivating. Everything was fabulous, and anyone who hasn’t read this yet is missing out!

Having read Jay Asher’sย Thirteen Reasons Whyย and liking it, I knew I had to try more of his work. So when I found out that he had a book about two teenagers foreseeing their future through Facebook, I jumped right at the chance! (And FYI, I liked this one wwaayy more๐Ÿ˜Š)

As for Carolyn Mackler, I’ve never read anything of hers, but I definitely plan to, now that I loved this!

Basically, this book is told in alternating POVs of neighbours Emma and Josh, taking place in 1996. Recently, they had gotten into a feud and stopped talking, but that’s until Emma gets a new computer, and Josh is sent over to her place to give her a CD to install on it. They log on, and instead of the suggested AOL, they find themselves on the future invention of Facebook, fifteen years later. Admittedly, the two aren’t completely happy with what they see, and decide to try to change it. Will they let their Facebook pages rule their future, or will they step in and make the decisions that lead them to the future they want?

Reading this story, I really liked Emma and Josh and the wise decisions they made, regarding their future. They were both super sweet, agreeable characters, and I have to say that I totally shipped them, rather than the people they got as their spouses as deemed by Facebook. Both could get really whiny at times, but all characters should and do have their flaws. I don’t think this flaw made either character less enjoyable at all!

My favourite thing about this story has to be the super unique plot. I think it would be really cool to be able to sign onto a website and see your whole future, like Josh & Emma did in the book. I think I would and wouldn’t want to do that, because a) I’d be interested in seeing what my future lies out for me, and how all the puzzle pieces connect, but b) I’d also be scared, as the future laid out for me may not be what I want in the moment, and to fix it, I may have to make a lot of changes.

Overall, this was an amazing, thought-provoking story, and it makes readers really eager to think about how their decisions now could impact their future, and that you should stop doing anything now that could come back to haunt you later in life. I’d honestly recommend this story to ANY teen, especially those looking for great morals, characters, and plot. Seriously, this should be required reading.

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

12 thoughts on “The Future of Us Review

  1. Lynn says:

    Interesting review! I DNF’d this book idk how many years ago, but honestly I just don’t think Jay Asher’s writing is for me. I didn’t like 13 reasons why either ๐Ÿ˜• I did like how sensible the characters were about their futures. I still think the concept is really cool so I’d be interested to know if you’d heard of other books with a similar premise.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly says:

    I LOVED Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why, and I had heard of this one but never got around to reading it. I just finished What Light and enjoyed that one as well, so I’ll have to grab a copy of this one, too.

    As always, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

