Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review (Just in Time for the Movie!🎉)

About the book:

9460487.jpg

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre & Age Group: Fantasy, historical fiction, paranormal, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Source: Bought

How I Found Out About It: Recommended by a friend & Goodreads

Review:

As many of you lovely readers may know about me, paranormal books and I are usually not the best of buds.

Hence this being a paranormal book, I went in without any expectations whatsoever. From reading other reviews, it seemed like you either loved the book, or hated it. In this circumstance, I think it’s safe to say that I fell into the middle of the spectrum, as I didn’t love this book, nor did I dislike it.

I decided to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children as the movie was just about to come out (in fact, it did yesterday!), and because it had been on my TBR list since December of 2015. (Whew, that’s a long time!)

For a quick summary, this story focuses on 16-year old Jacob, who loses his grandfather, thus inherits a whole collection of mysterious photographs. These lead him to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the place where his grandfather mostly grew up. Jacob goes through almost everything in the house, and soon enough, he comes close to cracking the mystery of what the ‘peculiar’ children were actually like…

I thought Jacob was an okay character, but just okay. Nothing about him really seemed to stick out to me, though he was pretty brave to be able to explore the creepy ruins of the home. All in all, though, I found him to be pretty forgettable, if I do say so myself.

My favourite thing about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children would probably be the captivating plot. I thought it was quite cool to follow Jacob’s journey as he unravelled the mysteries of the ‘peculiar’ kids, one of which included his grandfather. The time-travelling part was pretty awesome, too, but in reason of spoilers, I’m not going to say anymore.😐

I also adored the photographs, I think they just made an already unique book even more unique! Some of them were creepy, I’ll give you that, but I believe that I would’ve been lost during the book if it wasn’t for them.

Overall, this was an interesting story, but it didn’t woo me. I will definitely still be seeing the movie, though, and I’ll let you know if I enjoyed it more or less than the book.

I’d recommend this book to teens looking for a paranormal, plot-driven story, and/or a book to read just before seeing the movie. If paranormal is your go-to genre, then I’m sure you’ll love this one!

Rating: 3.25/5 Stars

12 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review (Just in Time for the Movie!🎉)

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    This was definitely a different kind of read, I finished it last night and I did enjoy it. Sooo excited for the movie! Great review btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Roselyn - bookmarkedpages says:

    I really couldn’t get into the story when I first picked it up. Despite loving the creepy photos and cool premise, I couldn’t connect with Jacob and found the story too weird and confusing. But as this was a while ago, I’m definitely going to give it a second try, especially because the movie looks so incredible! It definitely seems to be a story that would translate extremely well to a visual medium.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Read Diverse Books says:

    Hi, Kayla. Looks like we’re blogging partners for the positivity project! My blog doesn’t have a lot of YA books, but I try to include it when I can. I love reading YA, odd course!
    Nice review. I agree that this book was good, but I was not wooed by it. The concept is interesting and the pictures are a nice touch, but sometimes they feel like a gimmick, especially in later books, and I wonder how much we’d enjoy these books without the pictures. Idk. I do want to watch the movie, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

