The Start of Me and You Review

About the book:

22429350.jpg

Title: The Start of Me and You

Author: Emery Lord

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Scholastic flyers

Review:

After reading and really liking Emery Lord’s first book, Open Road Summer, I knew I had to read more of her work. So, when I came across The Start of Me and You on the library shelf, I immediately grabbed it off, knowing that it would be amazing.

Amazing it definitely was! I think I liked it even more than Open Road Summer. This book had everything I was searching for to make for a good contemporary: family ties, friendship, romance, FEELS, and everything in between.

For a quick summary of the book, it’s about Paige, who lost her boyfriend Aaron due to drowning about a year and a half earlier. Even though they only got to date for about two months, his sudden death hit her really hard, resulting in quite a bit of withdrawal. After hitting the year and a half mark of his death, Paige decides to try to get her old life back by making a list of plans, which includes joining clubs and getting her old crush, Ryan, to date her. When she meets the new boy, Max, who also happens to be Ryan’s cousin, she is taken aback with how awesome he is. Which boy will sweep Paige off her feet and help her leap into her recovery?

I’m kind of conflicted as to what to say about Paige. I mean, at the beginning she was kind of whiny and close-minded, but I understand her circumstances, as GEEZ, she lost her boyfriend at age 15! Knowing this, I decided to go easy on her while I was reading the book. But I didn’t have to worry for long, as Paige’s character developed SO MUCH! I found myself wanting to applaud her after she tackled everything on her lengthy list, well, at least for what she was going through.👏👏 I think that anyone who has experienced loss in their life would be able to easily relate to Paige, as I felt that her actions and feelings were really realistic. So, yeah, I guess you can say that I liked her😊.

For those people who aren’t very fond of love triangles, be warned, because there IS one. And it involves two guys who are cousins, and they are very close with each other. I can’t say much, though, because I don’t want to spoil who Paige ended up with. (That is for you to see for yourself when you read this book😏.) What I can tell you, though, is who I shipped to be with Paige, and that is Max.❤️ I just didn’t hear the ‘click’ between Paige and Ryan, but I heard a rather loud one with Max. Something about him just made him seem like a much nicer guy as well, but don’t get me wrong, Ryan is also absolutely a sweetie, as he even bought Paige a hot dog! Nevertheless, I can come up with many more reasons why Max would be better for Paige, but I am going to keep my lips sealed so you guys don’t get spoiled.😶 (OMG, that’s hard!🙊)

Overall, this book was very good, but I don’t think it really blew me away. Fans of any of Emery Lord’s other books and The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen should definitely give this book a read. More specifically, though, I’d recommend this to any teen wanting not the lightest nor deepest romance book that centres around love, loss, and everything revolving around that. You will NOT, and I repeat NOT, be disappointed.

Rating: 4.25/5 Stars

 

4 thoughts on “The Start of Me and You Review

  1. Kelly says:

    Fabulous review! I have several Emery Lord books, but I have yet to read anything she’s written. This book has come up as recommendation to me multiple times, and I have to say, your review really makes me want to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

