The Truth About Forever Review

About the book:

51737.jpg

Title: The Truth About Forever

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

A long, hot summer…

That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.

But sometimes, unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to question her sheltered life.

Is it really always better to be safe than sorry?

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

Before reading The Truth About Forever, I had heard a lot of amazing things about Sarah Dessen’s novels. Some of the things I heard were that she was one of the queens of YA contemporary, and that her stories teach great, valuable lessons.

Knowing that, I didn’t resist to pick it up at the library, and I have to tell you that all those things were definitely proved by reading it! It was truly a spectacular book, and I think that many more of today’s teenagers should read it. I am DEFINITELY going to be picking up some more of Dessen’s novels in the future.

For a quick summary of the book, it centres around the summer of a teenage girl named Macy. Her boyfriend goes away to camp, leaving her with a summer job at the local library which she despises, and when not working, she would have to spend a lot of time with her sister and mom grieving over her dad, who had passed away not that long ago. An unexpected turn makes her summer much more exciting; with the meeting of an awesome, cool guy named Wes and a second job as a caterer. Macy, who is usually pretty introverted, starts to branch out of her shell and explore many more of life’s possibilities. Is this new Macy going to stick? And at the end, who will she choose from; Jason or Wes?

Yes, I admit, the love triangle in this book is apparent and pretty undeniable. Luckily, the two boys don’t really communicate much, so in that area, it doesn’t cause a lot of drama. I’d honestly rather have the love triangle interests be two boys who do not know each other than have the two boys be best friends, so that way, not many backs are turned and the peace is kept (well, to a minimum). Unlike many books with love triangles, I actually didn’t really mind this one!

Macy was an amazing character, and I could see how much she’d grown from the beginning to the end of the book. She went from a shy, laid-back introvert to a party-loving girl just wanting to live her life; mostly for her dad, who didn’t get to live a very long one. In most cases, I’d say that this sudden change in personality wasn’t very realistic, but under this circumstance, I’m actually not going to say that, since she was doing it in her dad’s memory.  She also seemed to really want to get out of ‘grieving mode,’ which I totally understand. Her dad’s death was very sudden, so it definitely hit her way harder.

Now for the boys! I did not really like Jason (at all). His relationship with Macy didn’t seem to be going anywhere, and he just seemed like a bit of a meanie. If I were Macy, I’d just drop him. He claimed he cared about her, but it just seemed like his actions were saying something completely different. Wes was way better, as he always eagerly listened to Macy and inputted his honest opinions as well. I really admired the trust he and Macy had in each other; which was something she and Jason definitely DID NOT have. Wes was so awesome that Macy had the guts to tell him absolutely anything; and vice versa. Now that is a great OTP!💞

I really appreciated the morals of this story; which were 1) to cherish and be thankful for everything you love, because you never know when it can all be taken away, and 2) to live your life happily like the world is about to end. Now those are lessons to live by, and I loved that they were touched on in this book!

Overall, this was a fantastic story, and I guess you could say I loved it. I was conflicted whether to give it 4 or 5 stars, so I settled on 4.5, because even though it was amazing, I still think a little something was missing, but I can’t seem to place my finger on it. Anyway, I’d recommend this lovely story to any teens wanting a cute, coming-of-age romance book with a beautiful writing style, because this is the one! I’m sure you’ll adore it as much as I did.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “The Truth About Forever Review

  1. bookreviews5blog says:

    I absolutely love Sarah Dessen books and this is definitely my favourite. I think Dessen is really underrated. All her books have such important messages and are great summer reads😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

