Another Day Review

Hi everyone!

Now I know I did not review Every Day (my bad!), but I still feel like I have more to say about this companion book. Rest assured that this review will not include spoilers; as it is a companion book, NOT a sequel! Anyway…

About the book:18459855.jpg

Title: Another Day

Author: David Levithan

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, magical realism, romance, LGBTQ+, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person…wasn’t Justin at all.

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Here is also the synopsis for Every Day:

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review:

When I first picked this book up, I have to admit that I hadn’t read any reviews about it. I went in blind, and I did not really understand that this would be the exact same story as Every Day, but just in another character’s POV.

The two books are basically about a teenager named A, who switches bodies every day. A knows not to get too attached to anything and not to do anything that may ruin that person’s reputation, so life for A had been fine… until s/he becomes Justin. Justin has a girlfriend named Rhiannon, whom A falls in love with while in his body. Will A and Rhiannon be able to bond, despite A changing into different bodies every day? (As I mentioned, this book is the same story, except it is told from Rhiannon’s POV.)

Okay, so this book was so boring and dull! I felt like it was really unnecessary to have written it. I was really disappointed, as I absolutely DEVOURED Every Day.

This book adds pretty much nothing onto the story except for numerous scenes with Rhiannon and Justin, without involving A. I have to say, they were pretty useless. It even repeats some of the emails between Rhiannon and A in the exact same words, or at least from what I remember. Why write a companion book if you’re just going to copy and paste half the text from the original?  Easy answer, just don’t. People would get bored easily. You’ll save lots of paper, and money.

Ugh, Rhiannon was such a dull character! I felt like I could always see right through her. She was accepting of A, but I still found her to be kind of stubborn and whiny. I was also not a fan of her relationship with Justin, as he wasn’t giving her the time of day, yet she still clung on to him.

I would’ve said this if I had written a review for the original book, but A is such a complex character! A is caring and kind, and always seems to know the ethical things to do and say. Despite A switching bodies every day, A really makes the best out of their life, as well as the lives of the people they’re in that day. I mean, A once woke up in a suicidal girl’s body, and s/he got help for her, so she could potentially get stopped. Isn’t that amazing?! I LOVE how nice A is, and to tell you the truth, I’d rather have read another book from their POV rather than Rhiannon’s.

For fans of Every Day, I’d recommend that you skip this one. It’s basically the same book, except there’s a different cover and POV. I appreciate David Levithan’s efforts in giving us more of the story, but we didn’t really ask for this.

But if you haven’t read Every Day, I’m sure you’d love this book! I pinky-promise you won’t be confused. The concept is just so cool, and A is a great character.

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

5 thoughts on “Another Day Review

  1. itsmisselizabeth says:

    I actually got pretty bored with Every Day also. I got about halfway through it and set it down. I’m glad you enjoyed it though. Hope some day you’ll a follow up review of Every Day 🙂 it would be nice to read someone else’s perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn says:

    This makes me glad I skipped it. As much as I love Every Day, I don’t need another book, especially a retelling from another perspective. It was just fine as a standalone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

