Fangirl Review

About the book:16068905.jpg

Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult, romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads/Buzzfeed

Review:

I think that I can discreetly say that I’m fangirling over Fangirl!

I first picked up this book about ten months ago, when I was emerging from my long reading slump. Unfortunately, I stopped reading at around 20 pages, as I felt like I wasn’t mature enough for it yet.

A few days ago, I decided to try and read it again, and I have to say that it was amazing! The beginning is a little bit slow, I’ll give you that, but it was still a great build-up for the awesomeness that was to come!

To sum up, this book is about Cath, a fan fiction author, who is starting college with her twin sister, Wren. To Cath’s disappointment, she decides to pass up on being roommates with her, as she wanted to spread her wings farther and meet new people. As an introvert, she was really nervous and afraid of having no one to rely on; as her new roommate wasn’t the most agreeable person. She had also been dealing with other things, such as her mom’s absence and her popular Simon Snow fan fiction stories, with no one in real life to really share the fandom with. Will she be able to survive when she’s not under her sister’s wing?

I really, REALLY loved the characters of this book. They were some of the most complex characters I’ve ever read about! All of them seemed to have full personalities, and I’m sure that all readers could find at least one character whom they’d relate to.

My favourite character is the protagonist, Cath. I know that so many other bloggers have said this, but she is just SO relatable! Seriously, if she was real, she’d be a perfect friend for me. Like me, she is introverted, and instead of going out with friends, she would rather stay in her dorm and write her fan fiction. I am not a fictional writer, but I 100% understand her desire. Some days, I just want to stay home to read and blog. #introvertstruggles! I also just want to say that most of the books I’ve been reading recently don’t really centre around introverts, so I’ve been having a hard time relating to those characters. This is the first book in a while with a main character that is actually at least a little bit like me, and I was so happy!

Secondly, Cath has a twin sister named Wren, who I think I would say is, well, her opposite. She adores going out for social events, but as much as she wants Cath to join her, she seems to really understand Cath’s desire to stay put. She could be just a little inconsiderate at times, but I honestly think that Wren and Cath have a great sisterly bond that would last them throughout their lifetime.

Levi, though not necessarily my type of fictional guy, was also soooooo nice and understanding! I don’t want to spoil what happens between him, Cath, and her roommate Reagan, though, so I will leave this thought as it is and urge you to pick up the book and see for yourself.😉

Fangirl deals with numerous harsher themes such as family separation, drinking, peer/academic pressure, and more. But those things are only a tiny fraction of what this book has to offer. Even if you aren’t necessarily okay with those topics, this book is totally worth going outside of your comfort zone for, because I think every reader, writer, and/or introvert needs this book in their life.

The one teensy, tiny problem I had with this book was the ending. It just wasn’t wrapped up enough, and made me go, “Huh?” This may just be Rowell’s style, as Eleanor and Park had a similar ending. Luckily, the amazing story definitely makes up for that!

Overall, this book is not to be missed, and I could understand why within about 5 pages of reading this book. It hooked me in, and I know it will do the same for you!

Rating: 4.75/5 Stars!

 

7 thoughts on “Fangirl Review

  1. rakioddbooks says:

    I’m glad you liked it! When I first finished the book I felt a bit indifferent. I didn’t dislike it but I didn’t really like it either. However, the more I thought about it the more I found myself fangirling about it too! I realized that I actually loved the book. I think I just couldn’t relate to Wren at all which kind of ruined the book for me. I was actually judging her pretty hard because her actions and way of being were the exact actions that make me dislike people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

