Top Ten Thursday #14

Hi everyone!

Today I will be listing some common tropes used in YA; five that I like, and three that aren’t my favourites. (I know that this is meant to be a top ten, but I couldn’t think of ten examples, so you’ll only be getting 8. Sorry😕) I will also be recommending two books for each trope, so you can get a better glimpse of what I’m talking about.

So let’s get on with it!

Tropes That I Can’t Get Enough Of:

  1. Foreign romances! I 💜 romance books, especially when they take place someplace other than Canada or the US. Extra bonus points if the author describes the place really well! Here are a couple of awesome recommendations:6936382.jpg22510983.jpg
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins is a book I cannot stop recommending, it’s that amazing! Anywho, it takes place in the lovely city of Paris, and from how Perkins described it, I was practically there! This whole book made me swoon so hard.💘
  • Girl Online by Zoe Sugg takes place in the UK. I read this book all the way back in November, so I don’t remember how well the country was described. But if you want something even cooler, read this book and then pick up the sequel, Girl Online: On Tour! In this one, Penny and Noah tour all over Europe, so you’ll get a taste of a whole bunch of countries.

2. Mental health. I really like when mental health is mentioned in books, whether it be OCD, autism, schizophrenia, ADHD, anything! It’s a great way to make people become more aware about how others may be different, and how we can respectfully act around someone with one of these disorders. Some books I’d recommend are:

23305614.jpg301022.jpg

  • Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella is about Audrey, who has a severe social anxiety disorder. She is very uncomfortable leaving her house during the story, and only finds comfort in her brother’s friend, Linus, who helps her come out of her shell a bit. Review to come!
  • The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart revolves around Ruby, who gets panic attacks due to the stress of school, friends, boys, family, and even more. She often sees a shrink and talks about her problems with her, in the hopes that she would help her become calmer, and maybe subside the panic attacks.

3. Family oriented books. These books may still contain traces of romance and/or friendship, but their main focus is pretty much on the family ties. In most YA books, the parents seem to be just passer-by characters or barely take part in the stories. Not in these ones! Here are my recommendations:

26796210.jpg23524610.jpg

  • The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch does have quite some romance, but as I said, the family part completely overweighs it. You’ll find out more about it in my review soon😊!
  • One by Sarah Crossan centres around a pair of conjoined twins, Tippi and Grace. Again, it does have a tiny fraction of romance and friendship, but there isn’t nearly as much of it as there is of the sister/family bonds.

4. Powerful female leads. Books with strong women/girls are great because they show a lot of feminism, and that males don’t always have to be the heroes. They are also amazing role models for us girls, making us more willing to follow their traits and values. My recommendations:

13335037.jpg24770.jpg

  • I think you already know how amazing Tris from Divergent is! Because of this, I don’t think I need to explain, thank you very much😊.
  • Tally from the Uglies books shows a great deal of courage and perseverance, and will happily take risks with a daredevil-y attitude.😈

5. And last but not least, hobbies mentioned in books. In most YA books I read, the protagonist does almost nothing in her spare time. She may enjoy going out with friends or going on dates, but not many hobbies are shown! I really like the odd book where the MC is passionate about something, it just adds a little unique flair to it. Some passionate recommendations are:

13621089.jpg9961796.jpg

  • Harriet from the Geek Girl series has a knack for facts! Seriously, this girl is a genius. In the books, she can constantly be found offering random facts about almost anything. Just name a topic… and she knows at least something about it.
  • Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins has a thing for fashion. She likes to sew, knit, and create any cool new trends her heart desires💘. You can tell even by looking at the cover that she is a la mode!

Overused and Annoying Tropes

  1. Broken up families. In so many of the YA books I read, characters have divorced or missing parents, parents who left and want nothing to do with them, and even more! This is sort of the contrary to one of my positive tropes above, which is loving families in books. I know that these authors just want to show support for teens with families like that, but I think they’ve gone a little overboard! Some examples include:

12294652.jpg18525657.jpg

  • In My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick, Samantha’s dad is absent, and instead, her mom has a boyfriend. I can’t remember if Samantha’s parents got divorced or if her dad just picked up and left, but their family is still not very intact.
  • In Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn, Gemma goes to visit her dad for the summer. Again, though this is an interesting story, it’s just another book with separated parents.

2. Love triangles. This is a thing in pretty much most of the dystopian stories I read. I   know how many other bloggers rant about love triangles, but I agree with them, they can get quite annoying! Some examples are:

10429045.jpg10507293.jpg

  • I don’t want to spoil the love triangle in Shatter Me, but it involves three of the main characters. Juliette seems to know pretty well who she wants, though! I guess I’ll find out for sure once I continue on with the trilogy.
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass has a lot of tropes, but the most obvious one is the love triangle. Basically, Aspen & Maxon both want America, and she wants both of them (oh dear)😬. I still really loved this book, though!

3. Sketchy boyfriends. Now this is one I see in almost every romance book I read. The female lead falls in love with a boy, only to discover that he has been hiding something from her the whole time. Whether it be cheating, a fake identity, a big lie… You name it, some fictional boyfriend has hidden it! Some examples of these sketchy types of boyfriends are (For my explanations, I will only tell you the characaters’ names; as I don’t want to spoil anything):

27969076.jpg15749186.jpg

  • For You Before Anyone Else: Eddie.
  • For To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before: Peter Kavinsky.

So there we have it! 5 tropes I love and 3 that just aren’t my cup of tea.

Have you read any of these books? If so, would you agree that they have these tropes? Do you (dis)agree with any of my answers? Which tropes (ones I didn’t list) would you say that you really enjoy or despise? Tell me in the comments below.

Au revoir!💜

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday #14

  1. Angie says:

    I stay away from love triangles, like far far away.. Lol😁

    But I’m willing to try The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare because I’ve read a lot good recs on this book. 🙋

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bookishafterthoughts says:

    I just heard about “The Boyfriend List” and now that I’ve seen it again in your list, I’m thinking I’ll have to pick it up. Also, it’s so funny how you could only think of 8 because I literally had the same problem with one of my blog posts about my top 10 trilogies (that was really just top 8). Must be something weird about that number 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

