ARC Review: You Before Anyone Else

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

About the book:27969076.jpg

Title: You Before Anyone Else

Authors: Julie Cross & Mark Perini

Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Model Finley needs someone to help her shed her “good girl” persona, so she’ll try Eddie on for size.

New York City model Finley is fed up with hearing the same feedback at castings: she needs to take some serious action to wipe the “good girl” stamp from her resume if she wants to launch to stardom.

Enter Eddie Wells. He’s shallow, predictable…and just as lost as Finley feels. Deep down, Finley is drawn to Eddie’s bravado, his intensity. Except Eddie is hiding something. A big something. And when it surfaces, both loving and leaving Finley will become so much harder.

Source: Thanks so much to SOURCEBOOKS Fire for providing me with an e-ARC via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

This book was very interesting and realistic, and I enjoyed it a lot! I found the characters to be deeply developed and just so amazing, and the collaborating authors did a GREAT job on making their stories collide!

For a brief summary of the book, teenagers Finley and Eddie are both models, but their personal lives aren’t the best, which has been shining out onto their modelling careers. When they meet at a party, they immediately click and start going out together, but shocking news on Eddie’s side puts their relationship at risk.

I thought Finley was just so relatable. She was so nice and agreeable, and when the surprise occurred, she was really accepting of Eddie, and only wanted to give him all the help she possibly could. It was so sweet that she wanted to re-open her late mom’s dance studio in her memory! It takes a lot of guts and determination to do that, and for that I really admired her. She also had the cutest little brothers, Connor and Braden! I loved reading about them, as they were just sooooo adorable and funny and really lit up the story! Her dad, Sam, was amazing, too. He was super helpful and supportive, and overall just an awesome, easy-going guy! Eddie though… there’s just something iffy about him. I don’t know if it’s his background, his family, his personality, or something else, I just can’t place my finger on it. I think he should’ve gone right out and told Finley about the secret, but I understand that if he had done that, the story would’ve been much less interesting. Nevertheless, Finley and Eddie seemed to bond really well and they were such a cute couple!

The one thing I disliked about this book though, which is keeping me from giving it a full 5 stars, is the ending. I don’t want to give it away, but I just thought that things were a bit rushed and not wrapped up enough. I feel like the authors could’ve made it just a little longer, despite the length the book already was (almost 400 pages!). I would recommend this book to any teen (no one younger, because the content would probably fly right over their heads) who is interested in a romance with realistic and relatable characters, because I know that you will devour this book once it releases on August 1st! Get your wallets and library cards ready!

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars!

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: You Before Anyone Else

Leave a Reply

